Corn, Sausage and Pepper Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I read reviews first and made a few changes. I used 4 chicken sausage (andouille brand) diced it up and browed in frying pan. It needed some more chicken broth so added about another 1/2 cup. I used 1 can of corn drained and 1 can of cream corn instead of blending. as it was cooking, added a bit more heavy whipping cream (did not measure) trying to help thicken it a bit. & used half & half instead of milk. I had no Cumin, and didn't measure the white pepper. Added lawrys season salt & Spicy Montreal seasoning as well. The liquid part was more of a soup then chowder. but with all the veggies in it was perfect. If i thickened it up with cornstarch it may be too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
MMMMMM!! This is my new Favorite Soup!!! I did'nt have any peppers on hand so I added 1 thickly shredded carrot and some brocoli. I used 3 white potatoes and 14 ounces of lite smoked sausages, I also added more cream and topped this off with some scallions and cilantro. While most of the portions are off I would keep the corn amount the same. It may seem like much but its not. Thanks for the wonderful recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Excellent. My family loved it. It was very hearty & fulfilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Only reason I didn't give it 5 *'s is because it wasn't leaving me thinking "wow that was great!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Very good. It had a nice natural sweetness. I followed the instructions exactly excepted used 1 can fat free evaporated milk instead of the milk and heavy cream (to make healthier) and 2 chicken herb sausages (that's all I had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Wow! This was delicious! I will be making this recipe again and again. I doubled the cumin and white pepper and it came out perfectly; very flavorful. I also doubled the kielbasa and browned it first. Mine had to cook a little longer so the potatoes would soften up. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystallion

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is really good on a rainy night with french bread and a salad. I used 2 1/2 oz of evaporated milk instead of cream and a bay leaf like others suggested. I also browned the kielbasa before adding it to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Buurma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very tasty - even better the next day. For the most part, I followed the recipe except... In step 1 - sauteed the veggies in a skillet, transferred to pot. In step 2 - browned kielbasa in same skillet, transferred to pot. Mopped up excess grease from skillet with paper towel then deglazed with chicken broth to release the fond then added to pot. I used a bag of diced potatoes which seemed to take a long time to soften. Next time I will use red potatoes the recipe calls for. I also found I needed more chicken broth. I will definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOFTCHELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cedar Grove, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This was really good, and smelled great the whole time it was cooking. I didn't have half and half so I just used milk. Very good, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States