Corn Pudding V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This was a very good recipe - however to make it more pudding in texture and richer tasting- I added 2 eggs and a half a cup of half and half milk. This also gave it a more souffle appearance. I also used the "Jiffy" brand of cornbread mix as it has a sweetness already in the mix. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I have never had corn pudding before but decided to make this just as "something different" for Thanksgiving. I was reluctant, at first, because I come from a very traditional family and I wasn't sure how they would take it. To my surprise, everyone loved it and raved about it. Even the pickiest and most critical eaters loved it. The only problem I had was, since I've never had corn pudding before, I really wasn't sure what the texture or consistency of it should be. It says "pudding", so I'm thinking it should be the consistency of pudding. But then maybe I was mislead by the directions on the recipe where it states that it's done when a "knife inserted in the center comes out clean". Well, I waited and waited, and kept setting my oven timer over and over again, waiting for the knife to come out "clean", well, an extra 30 minutes or so later, it still wasn't clean and I don't think it ever did come out clean. So, for those of us that are trying a recipe like this for the first time, maybe the directions should be more clear and less deceiving. Although this came out really good, I'm still going to give it a 4, only because of the directions and the extra amount of time needed to make sure it was cooked (as per the directions).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
This dish was delicious after I altered it a bit. I added two eggs to the batter, as I wanted a dish more similar to pudding than cornbread. I also baked it in a 9x13 dish as opposed to a casserole so that it would cook more evenly. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
Very quick and easy. Everyone likes it! I rinse the corn to get the "canned" taste out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
My 12 year-old daughter mixed this up with no difficulties. I'd never tried a corn pudding recipe without eggs, but we all agreed that this turned out great! Thanks for a simple, yet delicious, recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
Delicious! I would highly recommend substituting butter for margarine and sprinkling some sugar on top before baking. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
My daughter made this for Thanksgiving. We didn't have sour cream but substituted plain lowfat yogurt. It was very delicious-minus a couple of calories. Texture and taste was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I made this twice. Once exactly according to directions and it was good. The next time I added these variations and it was excellent! I added 1 beaten egg, 1 red pepper, 1 jalapeno. It was a hit at Thanksgiving dinner yesterday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Bishop Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was a huge hit at Thanksgiving - so much so that my son-in-law (a very picky eater) has asked me to bring it to their Christmas party. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and added 2 eggs; I also borrowed from another corn pudding recipe and sprinkled a little sugar on the top. Delish! Just a further note on this dish - it does not need to be served piping hot so it makes a great picnic or barbeque side dish for summer entertaining. It's light, sweet, and just as good when at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hel's kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Couldn't be easier and is delicious. It went perfectly with a pork roast. I added 2 eggs, beaten, and was careful not to cook too long. A nice addition to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States