Corn Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I used a 2qt pan and I had to bake for an additional half hour. Sould have used a 3qt pan. In spite of this, it came out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Delicious. A few changes.Bake at 400 degrees. Sit baking dish in A pan of hot water in the oven. Add only three cups of Half and Half ( instead of The milk). Add slightly more corn if desired. Decrease sugar to 2/3 cup. Add a dash of salt, pepper and hot sauce. Hmm, hmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
It turned out ok with modifications: I beat the eggs and sugar by hand. I used 3/4 cu. sugar and thought it was still a little sweet. It seemed like a lot of liquid after I put it in the pan (9 x 13 glass pyrex), so I added more corn (used ~30 oz corn total). I also used 5 T. flour to try and make it thicker (if I made again, would use corn meal for half of this). I was surprised there was no salt in the recipe so I added a sprinkle - if I made again I would add at least 1 tsp. I also used a little fresh-ground pepper. After reading other reviews about the cooking time I upped the temp. to 375, and it still needed 1 1/2 hrs. to cook. I wonder if extra water frozen in the corn makes this more liquidy than expected? It might work better if the corn were thawed first. I made it with fat-free milk; if I made it again I would use only 3 cups and would use fat-free half-and-half for half the liquid. This recipe would easily serve at least 12 in my opinion. All-in-all people seemed to like it and it tasted fine. I might try it again because I prefer frozen corn to canned, but if you like canned, I would try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I made this with slight modifications and it was really good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I've been making this recipe for Thanksgiving for almost a decade. Every year someone says, "You're making the corn pudding, right?". This recipe is a keeper. Because the baking time takes forever with the current recipe, I cut the milk down to three cups. It still takes about an hour to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I baked this along with roasting my standing rib roast for Christmas dinner for 45 minutes. It is excellent. Almost like a corn souffle. The only thing I would do would be to add a little nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagler Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Taste was sweet and simple. Even once it was done cooking (1 hour 30 min!), there was a lot of liquid pooled at the bottom. If I make it again, I will try decreasing butter and milk to eliminate the wasted, liquid in the bottom, and I might add vanilla and nutmeg for better flavor. But I think I will try other corn pudding recipes first. This wasn't what I'd hoped it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Not recommended at all. This took over an hour and 1/2 to cook, and even then it was soupy. Sugar collected at the bottom, even though I blended it all together. Not only was I late to Easter dinner, I brought an embarassing dish with me! I recommend using one of the other many corn pudding recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! I made this for dinner tonight and my family loved it! I used 2 cans of corn instead of frozen corn and about 3/4 cup Splenda instead of the 1 cup white sugar. Also, I used a hand mixer to beat the ingredients instead of a blender or food processor - still turned out very well! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiLGarnsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Gay, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I love this corn pudding version as it is not as sweet and the corn has been pureed so it comes out more like a souffle. My family has been eating this version for years. Make plenty as it reheats well for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States