Corn On The Cob (Easy Cleaning and Shucking) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This is a 10 star method for cooking corn - absolutely no silk - not a single thread! The corn is cooked to perfection. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Actually, 4 minutes per ear (for 2 just double the time) is perfect and there is no need to flip. I have used this method for years and it works nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Wasn't completely sold on this idea of cleaning and shucking corn even though I had viewed the video.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YnBF6bv4Oe4&feature=share. The method does work. After I cut the end off the wide end of the corn, I held on to the silk end and shook a couple of times, and the corn slid right out of the husk, leaving behind one silk on one of the ears of corn. For two ears of corn, I cooked in the microwave for 8 minutes on High. I added butter and sea salt. Delicious - perfect for two people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This is my favorite way for sweet summer corn on the cob, unless is is so fresh I eat it raw off the cob. I serve mine w/fresh white bread, I like the Nature's Own Butter Top bread. You can use what ever, soft rolls work nicely too, main thing is the bread is fresh and soft. We spread the butter on a slice of the bread and once the corn is clean we wrap the bread around the hot corn and softly coat the corn w/the butter from the bread. While we let the corn cool for a minute or so we eat the bread w/the melted butter on it. It is some kinda good! The fresh bread is slightly heated from the corn and it has the salt on it...fabulous! My favorite is to use Jane's Crazy Salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
My Mom sent me a YouTube video of an older man making corn like this and I decided to try it and it works just like this recipe says. The only down side is that you do have to cut off one of the ends, which I like to use as my handle but at least I don't have to peel them anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Have been cookin the corn this way for many years. Full proof method. Recommend cooking each ear of corn for 4 mins so 3 ears would take 12 mins. No need to turn but I wouldn't cook more that 4 ears of corn at one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This will be my new go-to way to cook corn on the cob. Perfection. I love that there is no mess from the husks. I cooked 2 ears at once and cooked for 5 minutes. I opened one ear and thought that it needed another minute so I popped the other one back in and it was perfect. I think the length of time will depend on the number of ears you microwave at one time and the wattage of your microwave. Mine is a 950 watter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Perfect every time! I find it's easier to cut the bottom off BEFORE microwaving ... then just grab the top and let the cob slide out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Wow!! All that work before doing corn without the husks is now a waste of time!! Tonight my husband and I decided to try it. He was skeptical and I am always up for a game changer. So, we took the two corn husks and put them in the microwave on 8 minutes, turning them once in the process. Did the rest by the book and had a few silks on the corn, but that was no problem to easily lift them off of the corn. Oh my goodness the corn was soooo tender and crisp. Absolutely phenomenal. So much better than the old method which makes the corn rather squishy. Thank you for sharing this idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I will never shuck or boil corn again! This is so easy and clean and the corn is perfectly cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States