Corn On The Cob (Easy Cleaning and Shucking) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This is a 10 star method for cooking corn - absolutely no silk - not a single thread! The corn is cooked to perfection. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
My Mom sent me a YouTube video of an older man making corn like this and I decided to try it and it works just like this recipe says. The only down side is that you do have to cut off one of the ends, which I like to use as my handle but at least I don't have to peel them anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Wasn't completely sold on this idea of cleaning and shucking corn even though I had viewed the video.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YnBF6bv4Oe4&feature=share. The method does work. After I cut the end off the wide end of the corn, I held on to the silk end and shook a couple of times, and the corn slid right out of the husk, leaving behind one silk on one of the ears of corn. For two ears of corn, I cooked in the microwave for 8 minutes on High. I added butter and sea salt. Delicious - perfect for two people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This is my favorite way to fix corn on the cob. I've done this for years in the microwave, but the shucking part is new. Works great! Not one silk left on the ear of corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
The method works excellent! I used the video Shearone showed me. It takes 8 minutes, according to the video, and that worked well: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YnBF6bv4Oe4&feature=share
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Actually, 4 minutes per ear (for 2 just double the time) is perfect and there is no need to flip. I have used this method for years and it works nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Wow!! All that work before doing corn without the husks is now a waste of time!! Tonight my husband and I decided to try it. He was skeptical and I am always up for a game changer. So, we took the two corn husks and put them in the microwave on 8 minutes, turning them once in the process. Did the rest by the book and had a few silks on the corn, but that was no problem to easily lift them off of the corn. Oh my goodness the corn was soooo tender and crisp. Absolutely phenomenal. So much better than the old method which makes the corn rather squishy. Thank you for sharing this idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I love this recipe. The flavor is amazing! I will never boil corn on the again. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was so easy and good, too! Has anyone microwaved 6 or more ears this way?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This worked GREAT! My hubby doesn't like corn and I love it, but I usually buy frozen because it's a pain to boil just 1 ear. From now on I will be making it this way because it's so darned easy, and I'll use the frozen when corn is not in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States