Corn O'Brien Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Very, very good, but I substituted green beans and carrots sticks for the green pepper and pimento. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tannya Irene Lepley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made a version of this when I was younger. Substituted butter for bacon grease and added grated cheddar cheese and canned chopped tomatoes. My grandmother won a blue ribbon for this recipe at the senior cook off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Hoglen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bates City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I liked this fine although my husband did not care for this dish much. He did eat all of his though. I used bacon bits instead of raw bacon and added some butter for the grease the bacon would have added. This was okay but it seemed to need something else like cayenne or some kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Tastes great, it's healthy and simple to prepare. My kind of side dish. I did use more onion and bell pepper though, maybe a half cup of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I made this for a group of friends as a topping for tacos, and it was everyone's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
The flavor was wonderful. I felt the bacon took away nutritional value, but it as really very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nani
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I doubled the recipe to use as a side dish for 9 people - definitely enough! I found the end result to be a bit greasy, next time I'll dump 1/2 the bacon grease and leave just enough to coat the pan. I would also like to add more flavor to this dish. Some of the versions I read called for Seasoning Salt. I added Lawry's Seasoned Salt in addition to salt and pepper, but next time I'll go a little heavier. Overall - not my all time favorite, but a good dish to accompany corned beef and cabbage (see slow cooker recipe for an easy meal!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Zitar
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This recipe was easy to make although a bit too greasy. It was very tastey although next time I will remove the bacon grease from the pan before finishing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Zitar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Ate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States