Corn Nuggets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Something's wrong or missing from this recipe. If following these directions, the batter turns into part paste and part powder. I tried adding more milk, but wonder if dipping the corn in egg/milk then in separate bowl of flour/cornmeal would work better. This was not as I envisioned it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I don't know why this recipe got so many negative reviews. I made this tonight and it was delicious. I did make some slight modification to it. 2 TSP of milk I have to assume was a misprint. I added enough so the batter looked like waffle batter. I added one Tbs of sugar. This is important, I let the batter sit for 1/2 hour before I used it. If fried up perfectly. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Overall this was a pain to make, I had to rope my husband in to help out. The nuggets turned out fine as long as they didn't burst open/break open, if that did happen they got extremly crispy and unedible. I had to add more liquid to the batter to get it to the right consistancy also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I love this recipe! I just moved to Texas from Mississippi and all my cookbooks are in storage back home. So this was the only way I could get it. This is one of my favorite things to eat! And now I have it here with me! Thank you so much "jers" for posting this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Underwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Springs, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This recipe was terrible. My husband is from TX and way dying for me to make some for him. I tried on three different times, changing everything I could to make it work. I even went as far as to freeze the corn mixture in ice cube trays. Nothing worked. I ended up with ONE good nugget, and a bunch of soggy corn/batter patties. Oddly enough, he thought those were pretty good, but I have a feeling he was just trying to save my feelings. I found some pre-made frozen ones at Walmart, so they're just going to have to do. Please don't waste your time trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
this recipe does not work. the batter just seems to paste up and doesn't stick to corn. seems like something is missing. definitely wouldn't recommend this to anyone..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Maybe the liquid measurement is a typo? 2 tbls of milk just doesn't cut it...neither does 1 cup of milk, which is what I ended up using to make the batter liquid enough to coat the frozen corn. But, that fell apart anyway and just made a complete mess of my deep fryer. Bummer that it's the only 'corn nugget' recipe on this site..you just can't buy these frozen anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAXNURSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Good start but something was missing. I played around with it and came up with something that works a little better. It should post before too long, being that it is in the review process right now. But over all, this is a good starting point for those wanting to make some of their own, and play around with a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herrin, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tbryant127
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
For my first attempt not a bad result, but you'd have to try this a few times before you got restaurant quality corn nuggets. I read all the bad reviews about the batter, so I used a simple beer batter instead. (1/2 cup beer, 1 cup Bisquick, 1 egg, 1/2 tsp salt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
I did not like this recipe at all. It did not taste anything like what I was looking for. I've had corn nuggets in restaurants and this was not a corn nugget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States