Corn Noodle Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I didn't give this 2 stars because it was gross(it wasn't), but because it was extremely bland. I read through all the other reviews and tried to combine them into the dish I made. So I added veggies (I used red and yellow bell peppers and onion) and an extra can of cream of mushroom soup. I cooked those with the ground turkey. I also added garlic powder, crushed red pepper and parsley. I didn't cook the noddles ahead of time. In a bowl I mixed the turkey mixture, uncooked noodles and 1cup of plain yogurt. I dumped that all in a baking dish and added water to cover the noodles. I cooked for 20min and than stirred/pushed down the noodles so that they all got fully cooked. Than I cooked another 30min and topped with mozzarella cheese at the end. It was still very bland. It might not be fair to rate this recipe 2 stars since I made a fair amount of changes but I don't think it would have been any better or more favorable if I followed the recipe exactly. I didn't want to throw out and waste all the food so I sampled it with BBQ sauce, A1 sauce, and hot sauce (not all at once but each individually). It helped somewhat but still not great. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I did an ingredient search looking for a recipe to use leftover turkey with mushroom soup. this came up. great with cut up turkey.after reading reviews i added paprika, parsley,garlic powder,chopped celery, diced onion, crushed crackers on top. it was sooo good. i had one plate and my honey ate 3 plates full. it's all gone. i used about 1/2 the pasta recipe called for as well and 2 cans of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Anything that my two year old ask for seconds gets five stars in my book! Made some changes due to what I had on hand. Used one can of cream of asparagus and one can of cream of chicken. I also used a little chicken broth for more liquid b/c I didn't precook the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Pretty good base recipe but as people said, it needs seasoning. I sauteed onions with the meat. For seasoning I added garlic powder, onion salt and a bit of paprika & parsley flakes to add color. Make sure noodles are covered or they become hard. Might taste better with leftover turkey than ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJBeefStroganoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
As written, this recipe is good for fussy kids and husbands. However, next time I make this I will definitely add more seasonings to the meat and the soup mixture. I used cream of chicken soup and put grated cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
We liked this and will probably make it again, mainly because it was quite quick. We took the advise of many reviews and this is how I tried it: we cooked the noodles only for 4min. Browned the meat with onion & garlic, then added a can of creamed corn & I used cream of chicken soup - I was out of cream of mushroom soup but I think that would have made it better. I also added celery and sage. I topped it with cheddar cheese too. I baked it uncovered for the 20min as written. It was pretty good, not spectacular but for something different & quick it's a good item to change up the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
When I read the recipe I could see why others thought it was bland. I decided to use Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning and it was AWESOME. I highly recommend it. I added 2 stalks of diced celery, 3 cloves of fresh minced garlic and roughly 12 oz of frozen shoepeg corn. I didn't have any onion on hand so I used some dried minced onion as well. We definitely did not use all of the pasta that had been recommended (maybe 12 oz). We also chose penne instead of egg noodles. Much more hearty... We used 1 can of cream of celery and a 1/2 can of cream of mushroom and added 1/3 cup of milk. Next time we thought we'd try using some green chiles or mexicorn mix. Hope this helps spice up the recipe for others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Canada Flintridge, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This is a great, quick, and very filling dish! Of course made slight changes/additions. Instead of Egg Noodles, I used Spaghetti because that's all I had at the time. I added potatos because I needed to cook them before they spoiled. I used two cans of Cream of Mushroom Soup and added water to cut down on some of the thickness. Seasoned it with Season-All, Garlic Powder, Ground Black Pepper, and Paprika for some color. It's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was okay. Used 2 cans of soup and added peas and carrots to the mix- really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States