Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for. I couldn't find my old recipe so I was looking for something similar and this was perfect. I did reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup because I prefer my cornbread less sweet and found they needed a bit more time in the oven. I guess my oven is a bit cooler than the original poster's oven. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written and they turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ollianna786

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Good basic recipe. Can whip these up in no time. Love that it's completely from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.j.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kihei, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
YUM! I was out of eggs so I substituted 1 tbsp of milled golden flax-seed +3 tbsps water for the egg, all I had was canned milk so I did 1/2 cup canned milk and 1/2 cup of water + 1 tbsp of white vinegar for the buttermilk and they still turned out great! Will save this one to my recipe box and I may even reduce the sugar and try for sweet cornbread with it. It was sweet, moist and non-crumbly. Held together great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Stillmore, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Here's my healthier version: I used oat flour instead of all purpose flour, to make them gluten free. I used 1/4 cup of Stevia in the Raw instead of sugar and added a mushy banana to the wet ingredients. I used 1/4 cup of coconut oil in place of butter. I will use only 1/2 tsp. salt next time. Tasted so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
The family loved this recipe! I didn't have buttermilk so I did a cup of milk and 1 tablespoon of white vinegar (and let it sit for 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I have been trying a lot of corn muffin recipes this is the best ever, soooo moist! I added @ 1/4 cup of chopped jalapeños and 1/4 cup of cheddar cheese to batter.... The best !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Perri Pender
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Very good, This is my Mothers cornbread recipe but she uses less sugar, 3TB. Enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
These came out very well. I used 1 tablespoon of white vinegar in a cup of milk and let it sit for 10 minutes in place of buttermilk, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. These came out much better than I was expecting and are probably the best corn muffins i've ever had, rivaling even my grandmother's. Very happy with the result. :) The only thing I might try next time is a few minutes before I take them out of the oven, i'll brush the tops of them with a little bit of butter so they get a little more golden. They cooked perfectly and the sides and bottom are perfectly brown, it's just that the tops are still pale though that may just be because of my style of oven. 5 star recipe though, my thanks to the uploader for what will likely be something I make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Great recipe as is! My Suggestion: I wouldn't have changed a thing, but by chance, I did not have buttermilk on hand so I used soured milk (1 Tbsp. Vinegar added to 1 Cup Milk - let stand for 10 min) instead. The next time I made the recipe, I used buttermilk. We actually preferred the soured milk in this recipe.... Change-Up: I baked this in a small round cake pan at same temp/time instead. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
New go to recipe for corn muffins. Super easy and super good. Used sugar sub and still tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States