Corn Muffin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This is Heather, the creator of this recipe. As a suggestion for others when using this recipe, I have substituted the corn muffin with apple cinnamon muffin mix, berrry muffin mix, and bannana nut muffin mix. That is actually my daughter's preferred way of eatting them. Any style muffin mix will do. I hope you all enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather duncan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I made this recipe this morning for my boys. I did a double take when the recipe called for two TABLESPOONS of baking powder, so I changed it to two TEASPOONS. Other than that, this was a hit with my family. The batter wasn't too thick, it was perfect. I slathered the cakes with butter and honey and it was wonderful. Will definitely make again. And again. Cheap to make and great change from the typical pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Was good but like others have said be careful because some of the Corn mix boxes are 8.5 oz so you need to at least increase the liquid content of the recipe in order to avoid dry pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Made for breakfast this early morn (I actually went to the store last week and bought corn muffin mix so I could try this recipe). My 9 year old said this recipe was a "4 1/2" (: which is high praise from him. I used the Jiffy corn muffin mix, which was 8.5 oz, not 7, so I reduced the flour a bit. I loved the submitter's suggestion of using other mixes...lends to alot of variety with this recipe! Can't wait to try other variations! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
These are the best pancakes something about the cornmeal texture and the fluffy pancake make these the best my family keeps asking me to make them again and again. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This pancake recipe was very good. I would have liked it to taste more corn-cakey but otherwise a delicious alternative. I definitely want to try it with other muffin mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sah90504

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Delish! I used just 2 tsp of b. power instead of the tbsps. I also used the Jiffy mix which was more than 7 oz, but I evened it out by adding an extra 1/4 cup or so of milk. The pancakes were perfect and easy to make. I topped em off with some boysenberry jam and my boyfriend fell in love. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
The batter as the recipe is written is too thick. I had to thin it out with about an extra quarter cup of milk. Other than that, great and easy to make as long as you have the cornbread mix on hand. Edited on 7/23/08 - Tried the recipe with the blueberry muffin mix and it was awesomely light and fluffy. Didn't need to thin out the batter this time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
My 7 year old daughter did the measuring and mixing for me. We used a Pumpkin muffin mix from Aldi that was 14oz rather then 7oz. I had her do the conversions to double the other ingredients. I also had her add in chopped walnuts. I will freeze the extras to reheat later this week. My daughter thought it was so cool that we were using the muffin mix to make pancakes. She's been making muffins, cupcakes and brownies from box mixes so this was a non-intimidating way to have her move into making things with more ingredients. Then all I have to do is the baking. I didn't read the reviews before hanb and didn't even think about the baking powder being too much. I will definitely only use 2 tsp next time we make these. I did also add more milk to make it the right consistency for pouring. I assume this varies to some degree depending on the muffin mix that is used. These were light, fluffy and yummy! This would be an easy recipe to use for jar gifts at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as it was written and I thought it turned out fantastic. They turned out fluffy and full of flavor. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States