Corn Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Very good recipe. Like many others, I have my own preferences, but the changes I made were few: I used Bisquick, only because it's my go-to for pancakes, drop biscuits and things like fritters and potato pancakes. I also doubled the amount (2 c rather than 1). I added 2 tsp sugar, 2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, 1/4 tsp onion powder, 1/8 tsp garlic powder and I minced half a red jalapeno into it. Cooked til golden brown and served with ranch dressing. I think next time I'll give something like sweet chili sauce a try for a dip, and increase the jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avis Ervin
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This recipe was pretty good. I added additional sea salt and freshly ground black pepper. Next time, I will also add chopped onions, red peppers and jalapeños.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avis Ervin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I really loved this recipe. I made two batches for my birthday barbecue yesterday. One batch I just doubled the sugar as others suggested, and used chopped apples that I canned two years ago. The apple fritters went over a hit! My second batch I wanted to best of both worlds - hush puppies and corn fritters - so I used a 50/50 blend of cornmeal and flour. I used slightly less than half a cup of cornmeal to half cup of flour, because my research says that 3/4cup of cornmeal substitutes for one cup of flour in recipes, so I eyeballed it. I just used frozen corn, thawed and drained, and the results were a huge success. Can't wait to try a variation with cornmeal, parm, and crab meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I love this recipe. I usually double it though and instead of adding the shortening I use melted butter and 1 14 oz can of creamed corn instead of the regular corn. Instead of doubling the amount of milk i used what the recipe called for and added about 1/4 cup more so total i used 3/4 cup of milk. I also add 1 tsp of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Added 3tsp of sugar, and let sit a few minutes before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
great flavour, but caution: cook until dark golden! first go was a wee raw in the middle (and yes, i had my thermometer in the oil to be sure i was in the right temp range ;) ). i just threw em back n cooked until a nice dark crispy finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Great recipe that gives lots of room for you to make it your own. I use cream style corn to add more flavour (and cut down the milk slightly to make up for the added liquid).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Very good, but very greasy. This will only be an occasional treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Fisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
This was something my mom used to make for us when we were young....very nostalgic recipe! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 490) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States