Corn Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
These are excellent! I've been using this recipe for quite some time now as a base, replacing the corn with apples, asparagus, YOU NAME IT! The best variation I used peanut butter reese's puff cereal in the batter instead of corn. After frying, I rolled them in powdered sugar. Then glazed them in melted chocolate chips/butter icing, and then squeezed a dollop of peanut butter on top of that. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
These are great and this is a wonderful base recipe, I have made a few times and depending on mood I have modified. Feeling “Sweet” added a teaspoon of sugar and served with maple syrup. Feeling “Sassy” added 2 tablespoon of fresh chopped basil and served with a red chili dipping sauce. Both varieties were super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This recipe is exactly the same as an old recipe my great grandmother had. We have been eating these since I was a just little. We always use left over corn cut off the cob, it gives the fritters a great taste and we dip them in warm syrup...mm delish. Our recipe calls for 1/4 c sugar, 2 eggs and no milk. We sprinkle with a little powdered sugar also. Makes a great dessert with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxtell8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
i added a small handfull of cornmeal for texture came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Love it! Did add a little more sugar and salt for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kakeech

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazlet, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Really good and easy recipe-I added 1 tbs of sugar and I used vegetable oil in the batter and they were perfect-Definitively will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Analiese Fammler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This recipe is great. The first time we followed it exact and they were good although you have to eat them as soon as they are done or they are soggy later on... This time we didn't use an egg and we used cream corn and they were REALLY good. Sweet the inside was so moist a creamy just like in the restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I was able to make these from scratch to finish in only 20 minutes...they cooked really fast...maybe my oil was too hot? I cut corn off the cob that was leftover from grilling out tonight...about 3 cobs...and the fritters were delicious. Great way to use up corn! I did add 2 Tblsp butter due to no shortening and 2T of honey due to no sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
i did two batches of these today i used VERY fresh corn from the cob the first batch i made as is which turned out so tasty and the next batch i made i added cheddar cheese, more salt and some Cayenne pepper and WOW we really liked it alot. I could see this as being a breakfast or sweet item but i wanted to try to make it a little more savory to serve as a side dish or appetizer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
These were excellent, didn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States