Corn Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
3.5 STARS. I've been looking for a decent recipe for this for a lil bit; all the rest looked sketchy and seemed like a waste, then I came across this one. Mine didn't come all looking like the picture though; as little nuggets, mine came out more like patties which I figured they would anyway. I have been using allrecipes.com for a couple yrs now for recipes and they seem to be a trustworthy site so I decided to give these a go. I went with the recipe and at first only added 1/4 of a tsp of sugar which IS WAYY TOO LITTLE, at least for me anyway. I'm glad I took my own advice tried the first batch and realized how bitter they were with only the 1/4 tsp of the sugar and used my judgment and added about 3 tbsps which honestly did these justice! Not too sweet but made them taste more edible & like how they would if you bought them from a restaurant! I also used creamed corn for that added umfph ! Overall not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I grew up with corn fritters and these are even better. Shhhh...don't tell my mom (who got her recipe from living in West Virginia her whole life). I added a full tablespoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Delish! The only thing I did different was adding more sugar, also dusted them with powdered sugar. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I am from Lunenburg Massachusetts and we get these served @ the Old Mill restaurant in Westminster Mass. Try dipping these corn fritters in Maple Syrup very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These were amazing and surprisingly easy to make. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. The only changes I made were to increase the sugar to 1 Tablespoon, and the can of corn I had was only 7 ounce, but we felt that was enough. Delicious plain, or dipped in warmed honey. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made two batches one sweet and one savory. My FIL ate more of the sweet, but I prefered the savory. For the sweet i followed others advice and used 1/4 cup sugar and served with honey. For savory i added garlic and onion powder and some dried jalopeno from our garden. VERY IMPORTANT is the temp of the oil. What is listed in the recipe did not work for me. I ended up needing a lower temp or mine overcooked in seconds. I would do one at a time until you get the temp right otherwise you could easily ruin a whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I made this recipe exactly by the directions, it turned out amazing!! A huge hit!! I made some regular, some jalapeno, and some with bacon and cheese!! They were all equally popular, awesome!! Thanks so much for this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
these are just like my mom's. I used a ice cream scoop to drop them in the grease. makes it easier and they're all the same size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Steele Blaney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
These were good...... But dusting them with powdered sugar made them GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States