Corn Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
These turned out very well, very crispy. I dumped a 15 1/2 ounce of corn into the batter before realizing it was too much. Added a little bit more flour, shortening, salt & sugar to make up for the added corn. I believe if you follow the recipe exactly, you will get great results. Also sprinkled in a tablespoon of red pepper flakes. Would have added jalapeno if had them. You can use this as a basic recipe for any deep friend food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
These are so good and pretty much the way my Grandma made these back on the farm 50 years ago. Of course she used fresh corn and served them with white syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
CAME OUT DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
delish, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was a really good base recipe. I made one batch with with extra sugar and cinnamon and the other with red pepper flakes and a bit more salt. As other suggested, we dipped them in maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boquete, Chiriquí, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. I also let the batter sit for a half an hour before frying. I substituted the egg for 1/4 cup applesauce *I have a couple of children allergic to eggs* and also added 2 TBL of sugar instead. They tasted amazing and were a great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
was okay, not as good as I had expected. I like things with a little more flavor. Also, you must be careful not to accidentally drop any corn kernals into the pan, or else once the hot oil will make them pop up at you like pop corn. They didn't taste bad, and the batter held up very well, but I would like to see them mixed with some other ingredients, maybe onions or cheese or something for some pisazz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
pretty good, though next time i think i would add a little more sugar and a little less shortening. since we don't use maple syrup we like our fritters a little bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Definitely needs more sugar. I added an extra teaspoon or so. Also added paprika, cayenne pepper and ground mustard. Topped with honey. YUM. With the changes, it's a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States