Corn Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This was a very simple throw together recipe. Great for a last minute appetizer or side. I will say that it does need some flavor. Next time I might add more sugar or some spices. My kids even liked them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Very easy to throw together. I thought they were a little bland; they just needed "something." Maybe I'll add more salt or seasoning next time. I'll try them again - just modify the recipe a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
These are wonderful!!! This one is going in the books!!! Good Job!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
These were great and easy. I think that frozen corn made it easier to hold together to fry. Adding 2-4 TBSP of sugar helped make them sweeter. I also took butter and mixed it with honey and served it with them as a dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
These were very good and easy! I used my own frozen corn instead of canned so I had to guess how much to add to the flour mixture. It must have been close because I ended up with 13 fritters. I also used my cookie scoop to measure the dough and add it to the oil. My own personal preference would be for them to be sweeter but that is just me. I'm glad I tried this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Oh my! Baked these in a pancake puff pan on the stove and served with real maple syrup. As they bake, add a bit more butter when they get dry. Don't want to lose this recipe! We use it every time the kids come in as they love corn cakes. UPDATE: Works just as well in my new brownie maker. Takes less time and attention to bake, and also less fat. I just use about 1/4 teaspoon butter per hole, and put that in while the maker is preheating. This time, I tried adding about a tablespoon of real maple syrup to the batter instead of the sugar, and I liked that better. Done this way, it makes a nice side dish for ham or pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I tried these twice. First time as is, they were good. Four stars. Second time round, I added some bells and whistles. I added a quarter cup of corn meal, half a cup of crabmeat, 2 tbsp. sugar and seasoning salt. Other alterations include using two-thirds cup buttermilk and fresh corn kernels. OMG..those were the bee's knees. With the changes, they're a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
These are excellent! I've been using this recipe for quite some time now as a base, replacing the corn with apples, asparagus, YOU NAME IT! The best variation I used peanut butter reese's puff cereal in the batter instead of corn. After frying, I rolled them in powdered sugar. Then glazed them in melted chocolate chips/butter icing, and then squeezed a dollop of peanut butter on top of that. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristmasJones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
These are great and this is a wonderful base recipe, I have made a few times and depending on mood I have modified. Feeling “Sweet” added a teaspoon of sugar and served with maple syrup. Feeling “Sassy” added 2 tablespoon of fresh chopped basil and served with a red chili dipping sauce. Both varieties were super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This recipe is exactly the same as an old recipe my great grandmother had. We have been eating these since I was a just little. We always use left over corn cut off the cob, it gives the fritters a great taste and we dip them in warm syrup...mm delish. Our recipe calls for 1/4 c sugar, 2 eggs and no milk. We sprinkle with a little powdered sugar also. Makes a great dessert with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxtell8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States