Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Omitted salt and pepper, otherwise made as stated. Great taste, was looking for a recipe which was not as over processed as store bought. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Great for Scout Camp! We used powdered egg & dry milk and premixed all the dry ingredients in a Zip Lock bag so all we had to do was add water and Wa-La! Hot oil temp is the key, not too hot, not too cold. The hit of camp food this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I substituted honey for the sugar and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robby Wisecup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
So yummy!!! I actually found that not rolling them in flour made the batter stick. The ones I rolled in flour caused the batter to slide off. I also dipped chunks of pepper jack cheese in the batter and fried them. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
These were just what I was craving. I didn't roll the hot dogs in flour, but I did make sure they were nice and dry before I dipped them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Yup! I've made this recipe. The batter is ideal in thickness, texture and flavor. However, IMO, two important steps are missing. First, after inserting the sticks, thorough dry each dog with paper towels. Then roll of dust with plain white flour before dipping in the batter. Without these steps, the batter may sluf-off before or during frying. I've tried it both ways and the uniformity of the retained batter is much better with dry, floured dogs. An alternative is the semi-commercial idea of using pre-stuck, frozen dogs. Cooking will be lower and slower, but it works. And, for an easier, almost instant batter, see the Jiffy.com website recipe based on their corn muffin mix. Essentially the same batter, but easier to make. As simple as this product appears, getting the batter temperature and time 'just right,' will require some practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Very good. Going to try next time with a nice polish sausage. Can't wait to make them again. Thanks for sharing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smkellum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
SUPER good! I wish I had watched the video before making these (I screwed the frying all up, haha), but the flavor was out of this world! Truly is as good as the carnival corn-dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Awesome i LOVE this recipe!!! The best i have ever had! I added a tib bit more sugar to make them taste a little sweeter like atexas State Fair CornDogs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chriskura
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Lobster corndogs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States