Corn Dog Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Fantastic! I've made it twice in two days and there are none left! Odd tip: try using the cheapest hotdogs you can find. I used both good and cheap brands and the texture of the cruddy dogs actually works better with the cornbread and made it taste more like a corn dog. I did cut down the brown sugar a bit (to 1 1/2 Tbsp) but that was personal preference. This was so easy, super cheap and delicious! I'm sure I will be using this recipe constantly. It satisfies the kid in me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GottaFeedYa!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Ohio, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Never seem to have any leftover. I’ve been using this particular recipe since 2005. Really good. I recommend cutting the hot dogs into very small pieces and alternating while pouring in tins… batter, hot dogs, batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BUSYBEE25
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
These were really delicious -- and easy. I halved the recipe because 18 muffins would have been way too many. Still made 10 large muffins, which was great. I could have squeezed out another two, I think because I filled the tins more than the 2/3 full that it called for. Batter was thicker than I thought it would be when dropping in the hot dogs, but they turned out great. I used 3 slices per muffin instead of half a dog, which I'm not sure would have fit in my muffin tins. The slices were popping out of the top a bit, but it didn't really matter. I served with honey mustard, which made them really delicious. They are pretty hardy, too. I was serving them as a Superbowl appetizer, but they were super filling could definitely be a meal. I can see how kids would love these. I have a couple left today, so I'll see how the keep. I had served them straight from the oven yesterday, so they were perfect. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
These were a fun dinner. I suggest cutting the hot dogs into smaller sized pieces for better distribution in the muffins. I couldn't bring myself to add the brown sugar since the brand of corn muffin mix I use is already pretty sweet. My husband liked them with mustard, I preferred them plain. Some pepper jack cheese in the batter might liven them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Decided to make a half a batch (Why?? We just wanted more!), but I accidentally added the full cup of cheese. Glad I did. They were great! I'll make the same mistake next time! Also, I cut up the hot dogs in half slices, and stirred them right into the batter. A half lb. worked well for the half recipe, even though I'll probably never make a HALF again! File this one under "Fun Food"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I was unsure of trying this one but my teenagers really liked them. I increased the cheese to 1-1/2 cups and in half the batter, I added chopped black olives and chopped jalapenos. Those were the favorites. Next time I'll leave out all or most of the brown sugar; I'm not sure it was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeyYouToo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I like these a lot. My husband, not so much (even though he likes corn dogs). I don't think the sugar is at all neccessary, most corn bread mixes are sweet already. Extra cheese is good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
This one is great. My 2 1/2 year old loves corn dogs and these are cheaper and a bit healthier than store bought, plus he loved helping me make them. It doesn't say so in the directions, but I recommend covering each piece of hot dog with a bit of batter. I also baked mine in mini muffin tins, cutting the hot dogs in 1/8ths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
These are a great crowd and kid pleaser. I made them in my mini muffin pan and they were just the perfect mix of hot dog and breading. My pickiest eater said they were "fabulous"! This is a great recipe to keep in mind for a potluck or kids lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
these are really great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States