Corn Dog Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
next time I make this, I would chop up more hotdogs. Don't be afraid to stuff it with hot dogs, it doesn't burn if sticking out of muffin mix. You can leave out the sugar- we used jiffy mix so it didn't need it. added pepper jack cheese (it didn't come out spicey at all) and used cheese filled hotdogs. my kids liked it but wished it had more hotdogs, I'm thinking of adding bacon bits to it next time so that you get something in every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kamuela, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This was GREAT!! My kids (5 and 6 years old!) LOVED these! I DID make a couple teeny changes: Instead of the shredded cheese - I took the hot dogs and slit them and put American cheese (cut into 1/4" slices) into the length of the dog, then sliced the hot dog (with cheese) into bite-sized cuts and submerged three pieces into each muffin. I also pureed about 5 baby carrots and mixed that into the mixture.... Kids'll never know they're eating VEGETABLES?! ;-) I think next time I'll add yellow squash AND carrots! (the green veggies are pushing it when it comes to sneaking them! - too noticeable!) Thanks for the idea - great for school lunches and my picky 5 year old is asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LukesMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
My family loved this one. A fun recipe for all who like corndogs. I used Jiffy brand corn muffin mix, therefore no need to add sugar. Also added chopped green chilis in 1/2 of the them for added kick. Will also add as a lunch box favorite. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
These were just okay. I cut the recipe in half and cut up 3 full size hot dogs into 1/2 inch sections. I put 2 sections in each muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
OK, but not terrific. No children at home, so it's not something I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I liked these, but my son picked the hot dogs out of the corn bread. Would make again for a kids party or playdate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
pretty good, i would make again for the little kids...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAROLC80
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I made this recipe in mini muffin pans and put one piece of hot dog in the middle so it stuck out the top 1/2". I called them corn dog bites, the kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
These are SO good! We've used several kinds of hot dogs - we haven't found any difference, except that we chop them up so you don't get a hunking big bite that drags out of the muffin. They are even good the next day. I'd suggest refrigerating any leftovers (if you have any!), because of the meat. If you want to give these to kids, then be sure to chop the dogs up - coin-shaped or big pieces are choking hazards. Really good - thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These are AWESOME! Add brown sugar based on how much sugar is in your corn bread mix. I halved the hot dogs lengthwise and then cut them into small pieces and added them to the batter. I think it would be ideal to bake these without muffin liners - if you can (or let them cool completely - if you can manage to wait!). Next time I will add chili flakes or jalapeno's to spice them up a bit! Great baking project with a preschooler. Mine is still squirting mustard over his "crazy" muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States