Corn Dog Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Thanks so much for sharing this. A great idea for school lunch - my son said his friends wanted what he was having. My husband helped himself as well. :) Definite hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is a great way to trick a picky kid into eating dinner. Just tell them they are "hot dog cupcakes." The word "cupcake" seems to make food much more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
These were a HUGE hit. I only used a little under a tbsp of brown sugar and I think I may reduce it even more. I used turkey jalapeno metts, skim milk, and 2% cheddar cheese with Jiffy cornbread mix. I also made mini muffins instead of full size and baked them for 12 min. I made them for a gathering at my house along with buffalo chicken chili. The muffins got devoured. I guess I found my new potluck dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Great base recipe. I skipped the brown sugar all together and didn't miss it. I've used plain hot dogs and cheddar jalapeno ones - both are great. I also chop them up into little pieces to ensure hot dog in every bite. Another twist is to use cooked breakfast sausage links and have them for breakfast dipped into syrup. - Updated - Just want to mention that I've found them easier to remove from the muffin tin if I let them cool off about 5 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Was Ok. I didn't make any changes to the recipe. My kids liked them. I was a nice easy dinner that also turned into a quick lunch fix the next day. I personally didn't much like it but the kids did so 3 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yadikeith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
my kids love these!! I diced the hot dogs so you don't get all corn bread in one bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
These are fantastic...with a few changes I made to them....I am not sure they'd be so good with a box mix, I'm more of a make from scratch kinda girl....but here are the changes I made. 1 1/2 cup of flour, 2/3 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup cornmeal, 1 TBS baking powder, 1 tsp salt 1 1/2 TBS brown sugar, 1 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp garlic powder, 2 eggs, 1 1/2 cups milk, 1/2 cup diced red onion, 1 cup grated cheddar, 7 Hebrew National hot dogs, cut tiny into 1/4 lengthwise and diced. Mix all dry ingredients together and add milk and eggs to dry ingredients then fold in cheese, onion and hot dogs and add to muffin tins. The result is OUTSTANDING and made one pan of mini muffins and one pan of regular size muffins. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Didn't turn out so great when I made them but I'm gonna try again with some of the changes others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
There isn't anything special about these muffins. They tasted like corn muffins with a hot dog. Will not be wasting my time on these, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather1138

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I made these tonight and my son LOVED them! I thought they were really good, but the true test his my little corn dog lover! I wanted to give them a test run before making them for his lunch box, and they were a hit! I used Jiffy corn muffin mix, so I only used one Tbsp of brown sugar since it is already sweet, that is the only alteration I made. I also only had 6 hot dogs, so I cut them in 8ths and used about 4 per muffin. I think that works better for him anyway, so he can get a bite of hot dog in every bite. Served w/ honey mustard. He was a happy camper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States