Corn Dog Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I came up with a recipe almost identical to this one about two weeks before I saw it. So I prepared this recipe to see how it stacked up against mine. It's very tasty, I like it. Try throwing in a can of no-beans chili and make it taste like a CHILI corn dog. Even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Dupuis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
This is a dish my whole family loves - including my 2-year old son and meat-eating husband. I don't typically have green onions on hand, so I substitute yellow or white onions (whatever I have)and it tastes yummy anyway. I always leave out the sage because we don't care for the flavor. You could use regular hotdogs, as they are less expensive, but the veggie dogs are healthier. I suggest skipping the step where you reserve part of the hotdog mixture for topping.The topping ends up sinking into the cornbread mix anyway so it really isn't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Good recipe. I left out the celery and onion to make mine REALLY kid friendly (if making for grown-ups I'd definitely leave it in), and instead I added celery salt* and onion powder. Used a box of Jiffy corn bread mix and turkey hot dogs (watch the celery salt if you use regular hot dogs - might make it too salty) I halved the recipe and baked in an 8x8 pan for 20 mins - any longer would've been too much (next time I'll bake for 18mins). Be careful of the timing, especially if you omit the onion and celery, as they add moisture. I DID use the sage in this. I think that if you use light or vegetarian franks in this, it is a good idea to kick up the cornbread. If you use regular hot dogs, you may not need the sage...it's a matter of personal cornbread preference, I guess (I'm from the south and I like seasoned cornbread) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
I used beef hot dogs and this turned out great-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Make sure to bake in a shallow dish to allow the cirn bread to bake evenly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I was very skeptical about this. However, it turned out very good. My husband said "ew, gross" when I told him what we were having, but when he ate it, he said it was surprisingly good. I only used 4 green onions and 2 stalks of celery. Next time, I'd probably use the recommened amounts, as what I chopped was about 1/2 what was called for. I'd make it again. It makes me feel a little less guilty to serve to my family instead of plain old corn dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
This was fun and yummy! I like to make casseroles in the fall and winter and this is a fun change of pace - a little taste of summer when it is cold outside. I made a low-fat version and it turned out just great (low-fat margarine, egg substitute, low-fat hot dogs and cheese). I plan to take this to a casual pot-luck dinner soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I used turkey hot dogs and left out the celery. I also used half of a yellow onion, instead of the green onions. My family gobbled this up! It was great!! I made a half recipe in an 8-inch square pan, since there are only three of us. My two-year old son, thought this was great! Thank you for sharing this recipe. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JONESCLAN
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I NEVER give one star ratings. I really try to find something good about a dish. I liked the idea behind this dish, but it did not taste like a corn dog at all. AND none of kids (all of whom are corn dog lovers) would even begin to eat this. I obviously will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was very good.I used chicken hot dogs instead of veggie dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dog Muffins

Here is a muffin that's got all of the ingredients and flavors of a corn dog!

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States