Corn Dog Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Make sure to bake in a shallow dish to allow the cirn bread to bake evenly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
I followed the recipe, including the celery & sage but used regular meat hot-dogs. It really DID taste just like a corn dog. The next day when reheating individual servings, I just sprinkled a little bit of water on top before popping into the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This was ridiculously easy and quick! I did the recipe exactly as it called for and we LOVED it. I love the sage in it, because it is very similar to cornbread stuffing at Thanksgiving. The kids loved it, even hubby who is not fond of anything vegetarian. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
This is a dish my whole family loves - including my 2-year old son and meat-eating husband. I don't typically have green onions on hand, so I substitute yellow or white onions (whatever I have)and it tastes yummy anyway. I always leave out the sage because we don't care for the flavor. You could use regular hotdogs, as they are less expensive, but the veggie dogs are healthier. I suggest skipping the step where you reserve part of the hotdog mixture for topping.The topping ends up sinking into the cornbread mix anyway so it really isn't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
This way pretty good. I liked the fact that it was extremely quick & easy. Didn't get rave reviews from the family, but didn't get any complaints either :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
Easy to make, but it did NOT "taste just like a corn dog". It tasted like corn bread with hot dogs and cheese. Just say NO to reheating too! The servings are a little on the small size. I think it makes closer to 8-9 servings. Needless to say, I made the full recipe and it was more than enough for my family of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
I've never had a corn dog (always tended more towards the funnel cakes and sweets when it comes to fair food), but this was tasty and a nice-looking casserole. I cut the hotdogs in rounds because that seemed more appetizing to me for some reason. My 2 year-old wouldn't eat it, but he hates anything new. I didn't love this so much that I'll make it very often, but I will keep it on hand as a good kid-friendly dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
My daughter really liked this. We used Morningstar Farms veggie hotdogs, which is less weight than called for, but it works fine. I only had one box of cornbread mix, so I mixed up my grandmother's cornbread recipe (dry ingredients only) and used that in place of the boxed mixes and it worked out great. My daughter dipped it in ketchup like she would a regular corndog and declard it a "keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I followed other raters' advice and added another 10 minutes baking time--that was a mistake! But besides the darkened edges and cheese on top, the inside was delicious! I omitted the celery, onion, and sage. I added a can of green chilies(like others did), and I also added a can of whole kernel corn. This was wonderful and I am sure it'll turn out great next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
My whole family (even the PICKY 10-year-old) Loved this recipe! What a fun twist on the classic corn dog - and SO easy to make. Will definitely add to our regular menu. Thank You! :^P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dog Muffins

Here is a muffin that's got all of the ingredients and flavors of a corn dog!

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States