Corn Dog Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This was good...tasted more like cornbread with hotdogs in it than a real corndog. I skipped the sage and the celery...my husband really liked it, will probably make again when we have leftover hotdogs! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This was good, nothing spectacular though. I was surprised that my 5 year old didn't like it. I would make again, but not in the regular meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
this is a great tasting casserole! not big on hot dogs myself but I/we REALLY liked this one; and SO simple. many substitutions can be made if needed for lack of ingredients (stick with the corn bread mix though)or if just a twist is desired. We used pepperjack cheese instead of cheddar for an extra kick and it was fabulous. thanks :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIMOOS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Good recipe. I left out the celery and onion to make mine REALLY kid friendly (if making for grown-ups I'd definitely leave it in), and instead I added celery salt* and onion powder. Used a box of Jiffy corn bread mix and turkey hot dogs (watch the celery salt if you use regular hot dogs - might make it too salty) I halved the recipe and baked in an 8x8 pan for 20 mins - any longer would've been too much (next time I'll bake for 18mins). Be careful of the timing, especially if you omit the onion and celery, as they add moisture. I DID use the sage in this. I think that if you use light or vegetarian franks in this, it is a good idea to kick up the cornbread. If you use regular hot dogs, you may not need the sage...it's a matter of personal cornbread preference, I guess (I'm from the south and I like seasoned cornbread) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
My kids loved this casserole. I thought it was as good as this sort of thing gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This was a big hit with my very meat eater guy friends. It was fun to make and even more fun to eat. Be sure to serve something very light, if anything, with it, as it's very heavy. But so yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I was very skeptical about this. However, it turned out very good. My husband said "ew, gross" when I told him what we were having, but when he ate it, he said it was surprisingly good. I only used 4 green onions and 2 stalks of celery. Next time, I'd probably use the recommened amounts, as what I chopped was about 1/2 what was called for. I'd make it again. It makes me feel a little less guilty to serve to my family instead of plain old corn dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Make sure to bake in a shallow dish to allow the cirn bread to bake evenly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
I followed the recipe, including the celery & sage but used regular meat hot-dogs. It really DID taste just like a corn dog. The next day when reheating individual servings, I just sprinkled a little bit of water on top before popping into the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This was ridiculously easy and quick! I did the recipe exactly as it called for and we LOVED it. I love the sage in it, because it is very similar to cornbread stuffing at Thanksgiving. The kids loved it, even hubby who is not fond of anything vegetarian. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States