Corn Dog Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This turned out great! I did modify a few things though: Instead of green onion I used white and sauteed it with the celery (I reduced celery to 1.5 cups) I cut the hot dogs smaller as well as adding about a tablespoon of sugar while they were sauteeing which allowed a really nice caramelization as a result! In the "wet mix" (milk, eggs, etc.) I increased the milk to 1 2/3 (since so many comments said it was dry) I only used 1 tblspoon of sage and added some garlic powder and salt ..the only thing I will add/change when I make this again is to increase the topping of cheese to one cup! It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I'm not real crazy about cornbread so I substituted a Jiffy box of yellow cake mix (same size as the cornbread mix). You get the same flavor of the cornbread without as much of the gritty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This recipe was delicious and easy - a great combination. I used turkey dogs instead of veggie dogs. I have made it twice this year, which is a big compliment from me (I hate repeating recipes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
not bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexii

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I made this recipe per the directions to go with some homemade chili and was not disappointed at all. I used all beef hotdogs instead of the vegetarian. I wonder if the mix I used changed the overall complexion of the dish because it turned out rather sweet. I used Trader Joe's cornbread mix which also has whole kernels in it, adding some additional texture. I think next time I'll add some sort of crispy topping, some green pepper and red onion to the vegetable mix, and perhaps a tiny bit of cumin and paprika to give a bit more depth. Pretty darn good, could be great with doctoring. Most importantly the kids LOVED it and cleared their plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe! This gets eaten up in just one sitting. Going to make tonight for dinner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very dry, dense & overall not good at all. Reduced the amount of sage and it was still overpowering. Even my very not picky fiance hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This is AWESOME, and we have no kids. The big kid I'm married to, however, had seconds, and that NEVER happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was just okay. It tasted more like corn bread with hotdogs in it. It was a little dry. Though I did not add any celery to it because a true corn dog does not have celery and it just sounded a little odd. Maybe next time I will try Velveeta to add more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April0280

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
My kids did not care for this. Although, I did use sausage instead b/c there were no hot dogs available. So, I gave it 2 stars b/c I don't think it would have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States