Corn Dog Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by sunflower86
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
we loved this! even the hubby. But i put everything inside and ONLY cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I could see the potential in this but I think it really depends on your cornbread mix. I used Bob's Red Mill stone ground cornbread mix and it didn't turn out as well as I would have liked. I baked it for 15 minutes and then added a can of vegetarian chili to the top and baked for an additional 15. I think if I had just used Jiffy (Bob's Red Mill was thick and heavy) it would have been light. I will try this again but just a word to all: the simpler the cornbread mix the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebring

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rahway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jackson Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Wow! We tried this as a joke and it's going into the recipe box. We used real hotdogs. Just make sure you don't overmix the cornbread and watch your time when you're baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This turned out great! I did modify a few things though: Instead of green onion I used white and sauteed it with the celery (I reduced celery to 1.5 cups) I cut the hot dogs smaller as well as adding about a tablespoon of sugar while they were sauteeing which allowed a really nice caramelization as a result! In the "wet mix" (milk, eggs, etc.) I increased the milk to 1 2/3 (since so many comments said it was dry) I only used 1 tblspoon of sage and added some garlic powder and salt ..the only thing I will add/change when I make this again is to increase the topping of cheese to one cup! It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I'm not real crazy about cornbread so I substituted a Jiffy box of yellow cake mix (same size as the cornbread mix). You get the same flavor of the cornbread without as much of the gritty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This recipe was delicious and easy - a great combination. I used turkey dogs instead of veggie dogs. I have made it twice this year, which is a big compliment from me (I hate repeating recipes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
not bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexii

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I made this recipe per the directions to go with some homemade chili and was not disappointed at all. I used all beef hotdogs instead of the vegetarian. I wonder if the mix I used changed the overall complexion of the dish because it turned out rather sweet. I used Trader Joe's cornbread mix which also has whole kernels in it, adding some additional texture. I think next time I'll add some sort of crispy topping, some green pepper and red onion to the vegetable mix, and perhaps a tiny bit of cumin and paprika to give a bit more depth. Pretty darn good, could be great with doctoring. Most importantly the kids LOVED it and cleared their plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe! This gets eaten up in just one sitting. Going to make tonight for dinner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very dry, dense & overall not good at all. Reduced the amount of sage and it was still overpowering. Even my very not picky fiance hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States