Corn Dog Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I followed directions exactly with the exception of using hot dogs. I used hillshire cocktail smokie links. I was disapointed in the flavor and think it may be the cornbread mix I used,It was fairly dense but cut very well. I will do this one more time using beef hot dogs and a goog quality corn meal mix. I put some mustard on my piece and it did perk it up as I ate it soooooooo check the ingredients in your cornbread mix. This may be the difference between o.k. and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Excellent! I made it with vegetarian Italian Sausage (Morningstar), which worked well. I really don't think it tasted like corn dogs, but that might be because I made it vegetarian...? The dish was extremely moist. In fact, maybe it could have used a few more minutes in the oven, but I thought the moisture made it even better. After reading the other posts, next time I'll play with it a little, using muffin pans and adding creamed corn and less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Meine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Texas, USA
Photo by Maxine
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
My family loved this recipe but I did make some changes after reading some of the reviews. I left out the sage and added Ancho Chili Powder, this seasoning gives a wonderful taste without the heat. I used a half of can of cream style corn. I will make this recipe again. Thanks for a great recipe. Maxine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I didn't have corn bread mix, but really like the Homesteader Cornbread recipe on this site...so I just basically made the cornbread recipe and added the sauteed celery, onions, weiners and sage, pepper, and cheese to it. It was fantastic. Great easy dinner with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was okay. My kids liked it more than I did. After reading the reviews here I cut the amount of cornbread mix in half (used the Corn Bread Mix recipe from this site), and there was still a LOT of cornbread. I left the shortening out of the mix recipe and added 1/4 cup of sour cream. I left out the celery, sage and black pepper, since this seemed like it would taste too much like Thanksgiving dressing and have no resemblance to corn dogs. I did chop some onion and sauted it with the hot dogs along with a little garlic. If I make this again, I think I might add a little cayenne pepper or chipotle seasoning to add a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEEW17

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friona, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
OUTSTANDING! I didn't have any sage, so I used marjoram...smelled the closest to sage, and I'd never cooked with it before. I was actually surprised at how good it was! I'm not a hot dog fan, but my BF is. He's a trucker and I'm always looking for freezer meal ideas. This freezes and reheats really well! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHICK4URBAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Recipe fail. This is pretty much corn bread stuffing with hot dogs added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slacker Deluxe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I like corn dogs, which is odd of me since I'm not a huge fan of hot dogs and I really don't like corn bread. Still, I'm not a huge fan of frying so I prefer enjoying my corn dogs differently. I've made some corn dog muffins on here that we enjoy but was looking for something new. I made some adjustments based on what I had on hand and on the review by G. I don't have celery or green onions so I just left it out, and I also left out the butter. I used two packages of little smokies and added onion powder and 1/2 c of plain greek yogurt to the mix along with the milk and eggs. I also used the recipe for Corn Bread Mix on here for the corn bread. I wasn't sure how much to use, so I might have used too much (I made 12 servings of the corn bread mix recipe and used all of it). I used a 9x13 casserole pan. It turned out wonderfully within 35 minutes. This does taste like corn dogs to me--there's a bit of a change, maybe more breading that corn breads have, and perhaps not as sweet, but for an easy casserole that eliminates frying the corn dogs, it works just great for me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was wonderful! The only changes that I made was to use only 2/3 cup milk and add a can of creamed corn. I think next time I am going to make these into muffins so I can keep them for quick snacks for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
when i cooked this casserole, i realized that this was a lot greasier than i expected. I had a lot of leftovers left in the pan. I wouldn't cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States