Corn Dog Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I had a lot of venison hot dogs to use up from my husband's hunting trip last year, so I've been looking for new ways to cook them. This recipe made A LOT - a whole 9x13 pan for me. The cornbread was good, but the hot dogs got a little dry when reheating. Towards the end of the pan, I started serving a slice of casserole on top of a bowl of chili. It was a good recipe to use up my hot dogs, but I probably wouldn't make again otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I have been slowly trying to get rid of a bunch of hotdogs we got for a cookout that got rained out. I am not a huge hotdog fan to start with...so this is probably the best that can be hoped for given I am not a hd lover to start with. It was pretty good. Hubby liked it. Probably wouldn't make it again on purpose....but it was a not bad way to move along those leftover hotdogs. kids would probably really like it. The flavor was good though it seemed it could use a bit more moisture/was a tad dry. I think I really would make this again with real beef or chicken in it instead though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
My husband who hates corndogs went back for seconds. It was a hit with the kids too. I took others advice, omitted the celery, used half of a medium yellow onion, and cut way back on the sage, which was about 1/8 tsp. OH, I added celery seeds in place of the actual celery, 1 tsp. I only made with 1 C milk and 1/2 C sour cream. It was super moist. I made mustard-y baked beans to go as a side dish! Freakin Fabulous! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamidelCaribe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I have never cared much for corndogs but this is a great comfort food casserole. I halved it but used a full package of hot dogs. I am making it again tonight for my grandkids. I also didnt bother putting a cup of rserved mixture on the top and it wasn't any different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
It was pretty good!!! We liked it but we added jolopenoes and toped it off wit chili,It was good but probably wont make it often, only once in awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I used lowfat buttermilk instead of the milk, reduced-fat hot dogs (Hebrew National, they seem less 'mystery meat') and used slightly less celery and sage per others' comments. Baked in a wide, shallow dish so and took out a few minutes early. It came out perfect! Not mushy. Kids loved it. I may try some dry mustard next time as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I made this for dinner a few nights ago and everyone loved it! They weren't sure about it beforehand, they said it was interesting. But one taste and they fell in love with it! I will have to do this again! I did leave the green onions/sage because I didn't have any on hand. I also used Monterey Jack Cheese instead of Cheddar! I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sinny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Imperial Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I make this exactly as written and my whole family loves it. It is difficult to find a recipe that both my high school boys and my 7 year old like, but this one makes all 3 happy. It even tastes good reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Very disappointing!!! Too dry. The sage was overpowering. We could not taste that there was any cheese. Adding some mustard is the only that made this somewhat acceptable to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Really good! Its always a hit when I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dog Muffins

Here is a muffin that's got all of the ingredients and flavors of a corn dog!

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States