Corn Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Yummy! Surprisingly light and refreshing. I used two cans of corn and one can of rinsed black beans. Some people didn't even realize they were eating corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
My husband and I are addicted. We've taken this recipe to family get togethers and they definitely lick the bowl. But forget that, we make it pretty much weekly and save the leftovers in the fridge and snack throughout the week. We first made it cold-liked it. then, like the others, tried it warm-loooved it! I make this with non-fat mayo and non-fat sour cream every time for less guilt! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This is WAY better than the "Corn Dip" or the "Spicy Corn Dip" recipes here due to the fact that this one adds fresh jalapeno instead of canned green chiles and then uses the lime juice and cumin and salt and cayenne to get more flavor! We tried it with and without and it is WAY better with those 4 ingredients, which are not in the other corn dip recipes. The only thing I changed is using EQUAL amounts of mayo and sour cream (2 cups each). I also one time had no lime or lemon juice so I substituted a WHOLE 2 OZ. BOTTLE of GREEN TABASCO (officially called McIlhenny Brand Green Pepper Sauce) and it was even better! The green sauce is not really spicy but adds the tang that you need for this to not be too bland. I think I may do that from now on as it seemed even better than with the lime juice. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
We thought this was just okay as a dip even though I had heated it. But the next time I used bags of frozen roasted corn from Trader Joes, increased the onion and cilantro and served it as a side dish. Now we really love it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This is a great recipe! I made the whole amount (without the cumin) and split in in half. I left one half cold, and baked the other half for 25-30 minutes (bubbling) at 350 degrees. My husband and I tried both, and while both are great we prefer the baked version better and feel that it will travel better and hold up better at a cookout! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I just don't get the raves about this dip. Maybe it's a mid west thing? I am not sure. Regardless, I have been in the SW my whole life, so maybe my expectations/tastes are a little different. It didn't matter what I did or added to this dip (cold, heated, salsa, chili powder, garlic, black beans, etc.), it just was not exciting and was certainly nothing I would go out of my way for. It was just kind of a blob of too much white and yellow stuff with no interesting flavors. I would never make this again let alone serve it to anyone. Can't give it one star, because it was edible and not atrocious, just not something to get all "yippee" about...not at all. I just don't understand the raves. Oh, well, different keeps for different peeps. I say, don't waste your time and calories. If you are a west coaster, steer clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIPPIEJAX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
WOW! Based on the reviews, I was prepared to not really like this cold, but it's awesome!! Love it served w/Tostitoes flour chips. Made a few changes because i don't like cumin/cilantro and didn't have lime juice. Used a dash of lemon juice and used garlic salt and dill weed. Yummy. I reserved half to try baking it, but I think I'm going to serve it cold; what a great summer dip. Thanks for the recipe; it's a keeper at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Good dip. I made this for my sisters bridal shower and everyone just LOVED it. They chowed it all gone. I just used regular canned corn because I didnt have any mexican style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIDI4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I made this last night for one set of guests, and it was such a hit, I made it again tonight for more guests. At the suggestion of other reviews, I too bake it. You couldn't ask for anything easier to prepare and the praise is reward enough to know you have created a wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Not excellent. Wouldn't make it again. To me, it just tasted like corn and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States