Corn Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
I Love this recipe! Very Good. Ummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
Cooked for our company dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
A very easy recipe for someone like myself who had never made cornbread. I only had half a cup of sour cream but the bread still came out very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. It is missing a key ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
We really enjoyed this! I used only 1/2 cup sour cream because that's all I had, but it still turned out wonderfully. I also used mexi-corn in place of regular corn. This was a very moist bread! I think next time I'm gonna use a smaller loaf pan, as the 9x5 made a pretty shallow loaf. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
EPIC fail. I should have known--it was like soup. This recipe is missing a crucial ingredient--maybe flour? One cup of corn meal couldn't handle the liquid. I wanted a gluten free cornbread, but obviously this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
great tasting, even with some of my modifications. i couldn't make it to the store, so i used 1 cup yogurt +1tsp baking soda for the sour cream, and 2 tbs heavy cream to sub for one egg. i used fresh corn, b/c i don't like creamed corn. i was in such a hurry that i goofed up on the pan size; i used one bigger than a 9x13. For a get together with about 12 people, i would double it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This cornbread was excellent as a start. I altered it a bit since I didn't have the self-rising cornmeal. I mixed all the wet ingredients first with the 2tsp of baking powder and 1tsp of baking soda. I included 2 heaping tbsp of apple sauce and 1 heaping tbsp of sugar. I also added 4tbsp of flour to the cornmeal. I also reduced the corn to 1/2 can and drained it very well. I followed the directions exactly other than using a 9 X 13 pan This turned out so good. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Great recipe! I changed a few things. To be a little more heart healthy, I left out the butter and added more applesauce. I then added a small can of chopped green chiles to give a little spice. I exchanged the whole kernel corn to a 1/2 can of cream of corn. It had to cook a little longer, but turned out great!! My husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States