Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Doubled recipe so I'd have some to freeze later. Used turkey breakfast sausage and added carrot (4 lg.) and celery (4 stalks) - next time I would use less carrot for sure and possibly more celery. Didn't quite double the potato - probably used 9-10 cups. Purposefully kept it mild for my kids' sake, but seasoned my own bowl at the table with a touch of salt and a hefty grind of fresh pepper. Also for my kids, I made it more "soupy" by adding chicken broth - definitely skip if chunkier texture desired. Wanted a one-pot preparation, so browned meat first in large Dutch oven, chopping vegetables and adding them to the pot as I went along, to sauté in the grease. (If turkey sausage not used, would drain most of grease before proceeding with sauté.) Lastly added potato, marjoram, corn, milk, and enough chicken broth to top off the pot. Ended up putting the whole 32 oz. of broth in, and the resulting mixture filled my big 7-qt. Dutch oven to the brim. Let it simmer, covered, a couple hours while I left the house - loved how the broth soaked up all the flavors, but the potatoes were almost too mushy. Next time would only simmer 30 minutes or so. Also, depending on seasoning of sausage used, would add garlic, salt, pepper, and possibly even a few red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Great soup, I did it exactly as the recipe but using breakfast pork sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Wow love this soup! Instead of water I substituted chicken broth, and added heavy whipping cream instead of evaporated milk for a richer flavor. I used red potatoes and also added 4 oz of Mexican velveeta I had on hand I wanted to use up. So tasty, my husband and I love it with these changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This recipe is great!! I made a few changes simply because I was low or out of some ingredients. I halved the recipe because I didn't have creamed corn and I only had one can of corn, which was he perfect amount. Plus, half size is perfect for my family. I don't eat pork so I used turkey sausage but added a few sprinkles of hot pepper flakes since turkey sausage lacks that *kick* pork sausage has. I also didn't have evaporated milk but I did have half and half. Even with the changes, I'm sure this recipe would be great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Great chowder! The only thing I did differently was to add carrots and some pepper! Very hearty and comforting on cool fall day! Took it to a church potluck dinner and it disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
The texture was wonderful. However, I did not enjoy the pork sausage. If I make this again, I think I'll try ground chicken or turkey. (Just personal preference)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Wonderful chowder! I made a half-batch, using one cooked ear of corn in place of the canned. I made a few minor changes that helped me to enjoy it more. I cooked the potatoes in chicken broth. I browned cut-up spicy Italian chicken sausages (loved their spicyness in this chowder). Separately, in the same pan, I sauteed onion, garlic and some shredded carrots. Added all of that, with additional seasonings to the soup pot. Also made a roux with butter, flour and milk to add a little more thickness to the chowder. I liked the suggestions for topping with cheese. I tried adding some grated parmesan-romano, and have to say that I enjoyed it much better with it! Thanks for the super chowder recipe, Yvonne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I loved this recipe. I added parsley, thyme, and nutmeg along with the marjoram. I also added carrots and celery. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This chowder is so easy and tasty. I added chopped carrots & parsley recommended by other reviewers as well as 1/2 & 1/2. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livingdahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States