Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This was the first chowder I ever made. It was pretty simple and really tasty. I added the celery and carrots like others suggested, used red onion, half and half (will try evaporated milk next time) and didn't peel the potatoes. I let it simmer on low for two hours to thicken it up. It was very satisfying. I froze the leftovers in individual bags to take to work for lunches. Will definitely be making this again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~NorCal Mom~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Very good. Had to add lots of salt. I also put chopped parsley, green onion and cheddar cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Yummy! Very easy. Add some biscuits, and you're set! On a cool, rainy day it was the perfect supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Fabulous and easy! Used maple sausage and added cheese and cilantro! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stylistmama
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This was so good! I made a few changes: didn't peel the potatoes, used chicken sausage, added carrots and parsley, used chicken broth instead of water, and 1 cup of half/half instead of the evap. milk. I dissolved 1T of flour in the cream before I added it to the soup to thicken it up a bit. Next time I will probably add another can of whole kernel corn, too. I love corn chowder and this was the best yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I loved this recipe. My husband did as well, and that's saying alot. I used deer sausage tho, cuz that's all I had and I didn't peel the potatoes. It is now probably my favorite wintertime dish to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I made a corn chowder recipe I found in a magazine a long time ago but have since lost it. Today I went on line to find another corn chowder recipe and decided to make this one. Just one word describes it......DELISH!!! My 10 year old who is super pickey loved it too. I only changed a few things. I didnt peel the potatoes (all the vitamins are in the peel!!) I used chicken broth instead of water and I diced up some red bell pepper. It was soooooo very good!! Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I used ground pork with sage. I also added a little rosemary because I like the flavor with potatoes. Nice winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REEDERSHS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Really good cold weather food. Used oregano instead of marjoram and added some lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Very tasty! I served this comfy soup with sour cream and shredded cheddar cheese on the table; really made it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States