Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I used ground pork with sage. I also added a little rosemary because I like the flavor with potatoes. Nice winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REEDERSHS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Really good cold weather food. Used oregano instead of marjoram and added some lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Very tasty! I served this comfy soup with sour cream and shredded cheddar cheese on the table; really made it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Wonderfully simple to put together! One kid liked it, one didn't. Their grandparents liked it very much! Will make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
EXCELLENT!!! My kids ask for it all the time. To make it a little healthier I used Turkey Sausage the second time I made it and it was just as good. Quick and easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I've been making this basic chowder recipe for several years. The chowder always gets rave reviews and recipe requests every time I make it for work, family and friends. I double & even triple the recipe but it's never enough. I use low sodium chicken broth in place of the water; 4-6 cups cubed potato; 1 roll of hot sausage and 1 lg can of evaporated milk instead of cream per recipe. Feel free to add more marjoram (I've even added sage and thyme for a change). It does make a fairly thin chowder but you can thicken it up with a couple tablespoons of instant potato flakes if you prefer. I serve it with chopped green onions and cheddar cheese on top. Gets even better reheated the next day. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this chowder. As others recommended, I substituted chicken broth for water. I did not have any marjoram so I used oregano. The only sausage I had was a sweet italian sausage. Overall a great recipe. We topped our soup with cheddar cheese and enjoyed. It was very filling and the leftovers were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
My husband loved it and he doesn't even like sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
The family loved this one and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
The measure of a great recipe is its ability to adapt to various tastes and still taste terrific. This soup certainly fits the bill. My husband is a meat eater, so I sliced a pound of smoked sausage and added it to the chowder. In addition, I skipped the instant potatoes and added cubed 3 red skinned potatoes instead. I let the stew simmer until the vegetables were well cooked and added the milk and half&half at the end. Fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States