Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This was way better than I thought it would be. Even better when I topped the bowl with a little cheese. I did ad some corn starch to thinken it up a bit. but other then that, the recipe was right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scout

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I cooked the sausage and then put all the ingredients in a crockpot and let it cook for a few hours. It was good, but to me it was a little bland. I ended up adding 2 cups of cheese, which really helped. I think next time I make this I will substitute ham for the sausage and add carrots and peas or green beans. It was good and hearty and great for dipping soft bread into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This is a pretty good chowder. Ive never made anything in terms of chowder but this is pretty good. I didnt peel the potatoes though and I used turkey sausage instead of the pork variety. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Skywalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This was the first chowder I ever made. It was pretty simple and really tasty. I added the celery and carrots like others suggested, used red onion, half and half (will try evaporated milk next time) and didn't peel the potatoes. I let it simmer on low for two hours to thicken it up. It was very satisfying. I froze the leftovers in individual bags to take to work for lunches. Will definitely be making this again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~NorCal Mom~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Very good. Had to add lots of salt. I also put chopped parsley, green onion and cheddar cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Yummy! Very easy. Add some biscuits, and you're set! On a cool, rainy day it was the perfect supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Fabulous and easy! Used maple sausage and added cheese and cilantro! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stylistmama
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This was so good! I made a few changes: didn't peel the potatoes, used chicken sausage, added carrots and parsley, used chicken broth instead of water, and 1 cup of half/half instead of the evap. milk. I dissolved 1T of flour in the cream before I added it to the soup to thicken it up a bit. Next time I will probably add another can of whole kernel corn, too. I love corn chowder and this was the best yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I loved this recipe. My husband did as well, and that's saying alot. I used deer sausage tho, cuz that's all I had and I didn't peel the potatoes. It is now probably my favorite wintertime dish to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I made a corn chowder recipe I found in a magazine a long time ago but have since lost it. Today I went on line to find another corn chowder recipe and decided to make this one. Just one word describes it......DELISH!!! My 10 year old who is super pickey loved it too. I only changed a few things. I didnt peel the potatoes (all the vitamins are in the peel!!) I used chicken broth instead of water and I diced up some red bell pepper. It was soooooo very good!! Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States