Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Excellant!! I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wilton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I really couldn't help but thinking that the sausage stuck out too much flavor-wise in this recipe. Having said that, it was good. I let it simmer for 2 hours to thicken it up, but felt it was missing something. I added 1/2 cup of sour cream and about a cup of shredded cheddar, which made it nice and creamy. I also added celery and carrots. Good recipe, I will make again but probably will try replacing the sausage with ground chicken or turkey. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I used this as a great recipe to throw in some leftovers - used just a little sausage, added pureed yellow squash and acorn squash. Used just a splash of cream and a little cream cheese instead of evaporated milk. Awesome meal for cold weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Absolutely delicious. Quick, easy and so comforting on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Primes Rayburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was excellent! The only thing is,,I ended up draining the potatoes, therefore not having any "broth"! Stupid me. So I added chicken broth and had to boil it again..Think next time I'll boil in the broth. Very tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORONTODENISE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is an excellent recipe and it makes a ton and freezes very well. We used deer sausage in our chowder and like others, used chicken broth to up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This recipe has become a staple at our house. I a 1# roll of spicy breakfast sausage, then serve with grated cheddar and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby Roper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
As written, I give this recipe 4 stars. But I took a few suggestions of previous reviewers, and with those suggestions it's definitely worth 5 stars: 1. I added a cup of diced carrots in with the potatoes. 2. I used chicken stock instead of water. 3. I used turkey smoked sausage instead of the ground pork sausage. 4. I used 2 cans of whole kernel corn instead of 1 can. 5. I added some freshly ground black pepper towards the end, around 1/2 a tsp. I took this to a potluck and at least 5 people asked for the recipe. Definitely a keeper with these changes. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Great recipe! My roommate made this last night and it was a big hit. A couple minor changes: she used canned potatoes (too lazy to peel and wait to soften), oregano instead of marjoram, and she flavored it a little more with butter and herb potato flakes. Definitely does not need more salt, though, since the pork is salty. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States