Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This recipe has become a staple at our house. I a 1# roll of spicy breakfast sausage, then serve with grated cheddar and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
As written, I give this recipe 4 stars. But I took a few suggestions of previous reviewers, and with those suggestions it's definitely worth 5 stars: 1. I added a cup of diced carrots in with the potatoes. 2. I used chicken stock instead of water. 3. I used turkey smoked sausage instead of the ground pork sausage. 4. I used 2 cans of whole kernel corn instead of 1 can. 5. I added some freshly ground black pepper towards the end, around 1/2 a tsp. I took this to a potluck and at least 5 people asked for the recipe. Definitely a keeper with these changes. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Great recipe! My roommate made this last night and it was a big hit. A couple minor changes: she used canned potatoes (too lazy to peel and wait to soften), oregano instead of marjoram, and she flavored it a little more with butter and herb potato flakes. Definitely does not need more salt, though, since the pork is salty. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I served this to the family, and it was a big hit! Like some of the others suggested I used chicken broth instead of water. I also added a bit of cornstarch mixed with water to thicken it up. What great flavor! I will definitely be making this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Wonderful recipe!! I didn't have marjoram so i just added some paprika and a pinch of old bay. Just before serving I added a scoop of sour cream and a small hand full of sharp cheddar cheese. It was awesome! my 6 year old even loved it and he is very very picky!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very good. I used 2 cans of cream corn; omitted the can of regular corn, put kernels from two ears of corn in with the potatoes and added a chopped red pepper too and boiled them untill they were tender. Used chicken buillion and a heaping teaspoon of Italian Seasoning to the three cups of water.Used 2 pounds of Italian Mild Sausage. And followed the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Ooh, mama! That hit the spot and went down smooth! Need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This was just ok for me. I followed the recipe exact, except I used spicy chicken sausage instead of pork sausage. The recipe still seemed like it was missing something though. However, I shared leftovers with my parents, and they really enjoyed it. I think I just missed my traditional family recipe that uses bacon. Pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Sorry, not my favorite chowder. I guess I should have added some of the suggested ingredients. I'm sticking to my ham and corn chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States