Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Absolutely delicious. Quick, easy and so comforting on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Primes Rayburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was excellent! The only thing is,,I ended up draining the potatoes, therefore not having any "broth"! Stupid me. So I added chicken broth and had to boil it again..Think next time I'll boil in the broth. Very tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORONTODENISE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is an excellent recipe and it makes a ton and freezes very well. We used deer sausage in our chowder and like others, used chicken broth to up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This recipe has become a staple at our house. I a 1# roll of spicy breakfast sausage, then serve with grated cheddar and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
As written, I give this recipe 4 stars. But I took a few suggestions of previous reviewers, and with those suggestions it's definitely worth 5 stars: 1. I added a cup of diced carrots in with the potatoes. 2. I used chicken stock instead of water. 3. I used turkey smoked sausage instead of the ground pork sausage. 4. I used 2 cans of whole kernel corn instead of 1 can. 5. I added some freshly ground black pepper towards the end, around 1/2 a tsp. I took this to a potluck and at least 5 people asked for the recipe. Definitely a keeper with these changes. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Great recipe! My roommate made this last night and it was a big hit. A couple minor changes: she used canned potatoes (too lazy to peel and wait to soften), oregano instead of marjoram, and she flavored it a little more with butter and herb potato flakes. Definitely does not need more salt, though, since the pork is salty. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I served this to the family, and it was a big hit! Like some of the others suggested I used chicken broth instead of water. I also added a bit of cornstarch mixed with water to thicken it up. What great flavor! I will definitely be making this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Wonderful recipe!! I didn't have marjoram so i just added some paprika and a pinch of old bay. Just before serving I added a scoop of sour cream and a small hand full of sharp cheddar cheese. It was awesome! my 6 year old even loved it and he is very very picky!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very good. I used 2 cans of cream corn; omitted the can of regular corn, put kernels from two ears of corn in with the potatoes and added a chopped red pepper too and boiled them untill they were tender. Used chicken buillion and a heaping teaspoon of Italian Seasoning to the three cups of water.Used 2 pounds of Italian Mild Sausage. And followed the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States