Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I fried six slices of bacon and added to the mix. Really a good soup for a cold fall day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Great recipe! I experimented with the following alterations: i used a can of diced potatoes for speedier prep, added a shredded carrot, 1 can of cream of celery soup. After browning the sausage and onion, i added about 2 TBS of flour and mixed well with the meat before adding to the potato mixture to thicken it up a bit. I used frozen corn, and a tube of the frozen creamed corn. I added a dash of curry powder, and crushed red pepper flakes for a little kick. Very delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
My family and I loved this dish! It is now one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Delicious! However I did add carrots, onion and celery because no soup is complete without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I followed the recipe to a T, it was good, however, I would have liked it creamier and tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I hate corn chowder generally, but this is so good. The only corn chowder I'll eat! It's also really simple. I always make a double portion and freeze it in 2 serving portions in ziploc baggies. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was really good. My kids all gave it a "thumbs up." I followed the recipe as listed except I used smoked sausage and 2 cans of creamed corn because that was what I had on hand. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
WOW! SO good. The only actual changes I made were using 1/2 & 1/2 instead of the evap. milk and chicken broth instead of water. Some recommendations: use italian sausage, a mix of red and yukon gold potatoes (they're what I had on hand and turned out great!), add a couple splashes of Tobasco, and use red onion =). I also added some spices based on personal preference. This is AWESOME and easy to tweak to perfection. (Note: I let this simmer for about an hour and the consistency was perfect!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Lee
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
It really is quite good. I followed the recipe as written (except for substituting moose sausage for pork) and ended up adding a little extra salt in the end. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Spirit River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I found this recipe looking for something a little different but using pork. THIS RECIPE ROCKS!!! The best part is that it takes basically no time and you use 2 pans!!! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGBOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States