Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
We really enjoyed this soup with a couple of changes. I boiled the potatoes in low sodium chicken broth and skipped the salt. Sauteed the onion and a small jalapeno in olive oil before adding jalapeno chipotle CHICKEN sausage. Substituted a cup of mixed veggies (corn, peas, carrots) for the can of sweet corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was good. I'll probably make it again but add more vegetables and find a different meat. The sausage flavor was a little strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Very good. I substituted wild rice for the potatoes and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Pretty good, but I think I would like it better with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was great! I halfed the recipe but still added 1 can of each corn (creamed and whole kernel), then addeded some garlic salt for extra flavor. I think next time I will also boil the potatoes in low sodium chicken broth for more flavor! And I added cheese and green onions on top for garnishing :) So yummy and not expensive to make for a college kid like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I added bacon, chives and sour cream to the top and this turned out wonderful! I also added in a 1/2 tsp of garlic. This is a MUST HAVE on a chilly fall day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I was so surprised at how delicious this was. I was skeptical because I had never used evaporated milk before, and I hate creamed corn. That being said, I was in a chowder mood. I tweaked the recipe a little bit, I added half a pound of breakfast sausage and a package of bacon ends, which I fried together, and added to the chowder. In the bacon/sausage grease I fried the onions until they were just beginning to become translucent, so they still had a crunch. Fabulous recipe, my last corn chowder sucked, this one completely redeemed the meal. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Fab! I used Old World Fire roasted pepper, onions and asagio chicken sausage (that's what I had on hand) and from there, followed the recipe exactly. I shredded the last of the cheddar in my frige for a topping just because I wanted to use it up. It was a nice addition but certainly not necessary. Total home run with my boys! THANKS Yvonne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoeticLisence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Very good with surprising little effort. Equally good with dumplings instead of potatoes. Easy to lighten it up with turkey or chicken sausage. Extra good with fresh corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda D

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
We loved this chowder. I did not have a problem with it being too thin, quite the opposite but that might be that I probably had 7 cups of potatoes and added 2 chopped carrots for color and added nutrition. I used turkey sausage instead of the pork sausage and left out the marjoram because I didn't have any. Once the potatoes were cooked, it was just a matter of throwing everything else in and dinner was finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States