Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
It was a little sweet but that might be because of the sausage I used (sweet italian). Next time I will try it with a more spicy sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
My mom has made this recipe for years, and it's one of my favs. Our plans to make it tonight were almost derailed when I looked at my can of evaporated milk and it was expired - but I substituted about a cup of plain greek yogurt whisked with milk to reach the consistency of evaporated milk, and it's DELICIOUS. I actually might like it better with yogurt - give it a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is so good. I am so glad I used the Ingredient Search. This is so simple. Made changes using what I had on hand. 1/2 & 1/2 instead of evap milk, frozen whole kernel instead of canned. The recipe didn't specify so I used hot sausage. Added two large carrots and a pinch of red pepper flake. Before serving I melted a cup of shredded white cheddar into the pot. This recipe is super versatile. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
use chicken broth instead of water, 1 cup half and half instead of evaporated milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This was a hit at my house. I substituted diced smoked sausage for the pork sausage and we really liked it. I'm not sure a ground sausage would have been to my liking. I made some home made bread croutons to sprinkle on top. I made this last week and my teenage son is already asking for it again, so it's a winner in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Peterson Bohland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
We really enjoyed this soup with a couple of changes. I boiled the potatoes in low sodium chicken broth and skipped the salt. Sauteed the onion and a small jalapeno in olive oil before adding jalapeno chipotle CHICKEN sausage. Substituted a cup of mixed veggies (corn, peas, carrots) for the can of sweet corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was good. I'll probably make it again but add more vegetables and find a different meat. The sausage flavor was a little strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Very good. I substituted wild rice for the potatoes and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Pretty good, but I think I would like it better with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was great! I halfed the recipe but still added 1 can of each corn (creamed and whole kernel), then addeded some garlic salt for extra flavor. I think next time I will also boil the potatoes in low sodium chicken broth for more flavor! And I added cheese and green onions on top for garnishing :) So yummy and not expensive to make for a college kid like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States