Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ht1181
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Very good. Added a little more sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
3rd time in as many weeks. Gets better everytime. I add peppered bacon and use chicken broth instead of water. If its not thick enough I use about a1/2 package of instant mashed potatos. Makes enough for about 3days of lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coachtom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Didn't care for this. Made it exactly by the recipe. It was too thin and just not as expected. Will search for another corn chowder recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Absolutely delicious! First, I sauteed 3 tablespoons butter with 3/4 of yellow onion till the onion was a bit caramelized, but still tender. Then I put in 3-4 teaspoons of chicken bouillon powder with 5 cups of boiling water. I cubed 6 cups of potatoes. I added 4 large carrots - about 2.5 cups diced. I also added 1 celery stalk diced into tiny pieces. I boiled this until the potatoes were tender and then I added in fat-free evaporated milk and 2 cans of cream style corn. I diced 3 Curly's Smokehouse Double Smoked pork sausage and added them into the soup and let it boil some more. I also added in 1 tablespoon of black pepper. Amazing tasting...sweet and a bit of zing from the pepper. Delish! I think the smoked sausage and the black ground pepper really made the chowder. When serving, I add fresh chopped green onion and oyster crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Hubby would give it a 5 and I would give it a 3 so I settled on a 4 star. It really tastes too much like cream corn to me. I didn't have the marjoram and used chicken broth instead of plain water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Made for Scott 11/17/2013 - good, quick & easy (especially if the sausage is browned ahead of time!). Added more marjoram at end. Could try other spices to give it more pizzazz next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
So good! I used chicken broth instead of water, sweet potatoes, italian seasoning, omitted the salt, added pepper. I also used skim milk and frozen kernel corn instead of canned corn (that's what I had on hand). So delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
It was a little sweet but that might be because of the sausage I used (sweet italian). Next time I will try it with a more spicy sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
My mom has made this recipe for years, and it's one of my favs. Our plans to make it tonight were almost derailed when I looked at my can of evaporated milk and it was expired - but I substituted about a cup of plain greek yogurt whisked with milk to reach the consistency of evaporated milk, and it's DELICIOUS. I actually might like it better with yogurt - give it a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is so good. I am so glad I used the Ingredient Search. This is so simple. Made changes using what I had on hand. 1/2 & 1/2 instead of evap milk, frozen whole kernel instead of canned. The recipe didn't specify so I used hot sausage. Added two large carrots and a pinch of red pepper flake. Before serving I melted a cup of shredded white cheddar into the pot. This recipe is super versatile. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McInerney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States