Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Wonderfully simple to put together! One kid liked it, one didn't. Their grandparents liked it very much! Will make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
EXCELLENT!!! My kids ask for it all the time. To make it a little healthier I used Turkey Sausage the second time I made it and it was just as good. Quick and easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I've been making this basic chowder recipe for several years. The chowder always gets rave reviews and recipe requests every time I make it for work, family and friends. I double & even triple the recipe but it's never enough. I use low sodium chicken broth in place of the water; 4-6 cups cubed potato; 1 roll of hot sausage and 1 lg can of evaporated milk instead of cream per recipe. Feel free to add more marjoram (I've even added sage and thyme for a change). It does make a fairly thin chowder but you can thicken it up with a couple tablespoons of instant potato flakes if you prefer. I serve it with chopped green onions and cheddar cheese on top. Gets even better reheated the next day. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this chowder. As others recommended, I substituted chicken broth for water. I did not have any marjoram so I used oregano. The only sausage I had was a sweet italian sausage. Overall a great recipe. We topped our soup with cheddar cheese and enjoyed. It was very filling and the leftovers were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
My husband loved it and he doesn't even like sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
The family loved this one and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
The measure of a great recipe is its ability to adapt to various tastes and still taste terrific. This soup certainly fits the bill. My husband is a meat eater, so I sliced a pound of smoked sausage and added it to the chowder. In addition, I skipped the instant potatoes and added cubed 3 red skinned potatoes instead. I let the stew simmer until the vegetables were well cooked and added the milk and half&half at the end. Fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I took some of the advice already posted and added chicken broth instead of water. I also had left over pork loin and used this as a substitute to the Sausage. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I haven't actually ate this yet, just a spoonful, and it's lovely! I made it last night for tonight's supper, can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This was pretty good but not fabulous. I think it would have been boring without the sausage and that the flavor from the sausage is what kind of "made it."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States