Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Wonderful chowder! I made a half-batch, using one cooked ear of corn in place of the canned. I made a few minor changes that helped me to enjoy it more. I cooked the potatoes in chicken broth. I browned cut-up spicy Italian chicken sausages (loved their spicyness in this chowder). Separately, in the same pan, I sauteed onion, garlic and some shredded carrots. Added all of that, with additional seasonings to the soup pot. Also made a roux with butter, flour and milk to add a little more thickness to the chowder. I liked the suggestions for topping with cheese. I tried adding some grated parmesan-romano, and have to say that I enjoyed it much better with it! Thanks for the super chowder recipe, Yvonne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I loved this recipe. I added parsley, thyme, and nutmeg along with the marjoram. I also added carrots and celery. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This chowder is so easy and tasty. I added chopped carrots & parsley recommended by other reviewers as well as 1/2 & 1/2. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livingdahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ht1181
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Very good. Added a little more sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
3rd time in as many weeks. Gets better everytime. I add peppered bacon and use chicken broth instead of water. If its not thick enough I use about a1/2 package of instant mashed potatos. Makes enough for about 3days of lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coachtom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Didn't care for this. Made it exactly by the recipe. It was too thin and just not as expected. Will search for another corn chowder recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Absolutely delicious! First, I sauteed 3 tablespoons butter with 3/4 of yellow onion till the onion was a bit caramelized, but still tender. Then I put in 3-4 teaspoons of chicken bouillon powder with 5 cups of boiling water. I cubed 6 cups of potatoes. I added 4 large carrots - about 2.5 cups diced. I also added 1 celery stalk diced into tiny pieces. I boiled this until the potatoes were tender and then I added in fat-free evaporated milk and 2 cans of cream style corn. I diced 3 Curly's Smokehouse Double Smoked pork sausage and added them into the soup and let it boil some more. I also added in 1 tablespoon of black pepper. Amazing tasting...sweet and a bit of zing from the pepper. Delish! I think the smoked sausage and the black ground pepper really made the chowder. When serving, I add fresh chopped green onion and oyster crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Hubby would give it a 5 and I would give it a 3 so I settled on a 4 star. It really tastes too much like cream corn to me. I didn't have the marjoram and used chicken broth instead of plain water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Made for Scott 11/17/2013 - good, quick & easy (especially if the sausage is browned ahead of time!). Added more marjoram at end. Could try other spices to give it more pizzazz next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
So good! I used chicken broth instead of water, sweet potatoes, italian seasoning, omitted the salt, added pepper. I also used skim milk and frozen kernel corn instead of canned corn (that's what I had on hand). So delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States