Corn Chowder III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
If you like a thiner soup this is it but I prefer a thicker soup so I added an equal amount of drained whole kernel corn and left out 2 cans of evap milk. I crumbled the bacon and added it as a garnish with a bit of shredded cheese. This recipe is as easy as falling off a log and has a delicous flavor,,,I use it in my restaurant and recomend it. Lois
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I work at a lodge in the mountains of Idaho. I had some guest coming in for lunch. I needed a quick tasty lunch idea. I cooked this soup up and it was a great hit. It was sweet and creamy and very easy to make. I didn't have any celery so I used celery seed and added a couple of potatoes. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I made this recipe a week ago and it was really good. But I must admit that it was rather thin making it less of a chowder and more so a vegetable soup. I made the recipe again, though this time I added a tablespoon and a half of flour after sauteing the vegetables to make a sort of roux. This came out to a much better consistency then before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
The consistancy of this recipe is really too thin. I would cut back the water and maybe subtract a can of the cond milk. Like the other reviewer, I also added potatoes to make it a little chunkier. Good and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was as good as corn chowder can be, really easy and tasted wonderful. I just added a bit more salt and pepper to taste. This is a great recipe, thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Canedo - GO STEELERS!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very delicious recipe. I made this for Christmas day. I left out the bacon, as I dont eat pork ( its not available at my organic farm ). I also only used 1 can of evaporated milk, and I added 3 red skinned potatoes chopped up to give it more substance. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Ladies Bonspiel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Wow, this was not good at all to my husband and I, sorry. way too thin and lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
this was pretty good. i halved the recipe but left the full amount of bacon. :) substituted red pepper. used whole corn, taking half and running through food processor. would use 1/4 - 1/2 of the amount of water recommended. we added cayenne pepper for a nice kick. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Very nice. I used celery instead of celery leaves, because I could not find any celery leaves. My family loved it. It has a bit of a thin consistency, but other than that, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States