Corn Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Delicious! I used almond milk and it was just as good, if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This recipe was not good! It was burnt after 10 minutes. I really don't know what the other comments are talking about but cheese cooking for 1 hour makes it burnt. I cooked it for 10 minutes and it tasted almost horrible. We suffered through it not to waste all that food but I do NOT recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Family loved it. Was easy to make too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Made this in the slow cooker instead, but kept fairly close to the recipe. Only differences were I skipped the veggies, and shredded potatoes into the soup instead. I used heavy cream and a little bit of milk until the liquid came just slightly above the level of the corn. I cooked it in the slow cooker for about 4 hours on high, and added the cheese right before I served it. Best chowder I ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is by far my absolute favorite corn chowder. I have made it several times and even brought it to a holiday party where it was a big hit. Last time I made it, I added 1 cubed russett potato, 1 chopped carrot, and 1/2 cup frozen peas. As usual, I am kicking myself for not doubling or tripling the recipe to have enough leftovers for a few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Had I not added the full can of creamed corn, I probably would have liked this chowder more. It took a lot of random additions to mask that tell-tale taste. Fortunately I used frozen kernel corn... just should have used more of it and adjusted liquids from that point. Not a bad little chowder, considering it uses common pantry/freezer items (very useful during snow/ice storms) and comes together in a flash (ditto when trying to dig out after said snow/ice storm). Thanks Kathleen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I thought this was surprisingly excellent, I followed the directions almost exactly except I shortened the cooking time. for anyone on a time budget, I suggest mixing the creamed corn and milk in the pan you want your finished soup in, on mediumish heat, after 5 minutes add in your other can of corn. In the meantime (during the 5 minutes) melt the butter in a separate small saucepan, then add the onions, give it the three minutes, add the seasonings, wine, and flour, add to what should be now a nice thick corn soup in the other pan, add the cheese and bell pepper and voila! Very easy, delicious, and took about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ckelly976

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA
Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Easy recipe with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIENNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I kicked this up a bit with some tomato juice (very little). It was really good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States