Corn Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I just finished making this . It tastes very yummy . The only thing I added was some garlic powder and celery salt . Also , after I cooked the onions , I poured onions and bacon grease in pot . Have it all in my slow cooker right now to blend all the flavors . Gonna be yummy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I've been looking for a good corn chowder and I finally found it. I just finished eating my second bowl and thinking about a three. LOVE IT!!!! Will make again and again. The only thing I will do differently next time is add the bacon to my bowl. I like my bacon very crispy. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I love this!! This chowder recipe is scrumptious AS IS and reminded me of growing up in New England. I do (don't we all?) like to make a few MINOR tweaks though. I add 1 tablespoon of chicken boullion powder and 1 tablespoon of dried celery flakes along with the milk and other ingredients; switch out one of the cans of creamed corn and replace it with a can of white shoepeg whole kernel corn; skip the flour step (makes this dish GLUTEN FREE) and instead just add a corn starch paste (2 tablespoons to 1/3 cup water) once the milk combo is at a nice simmer; and lastly, I add 1/2 cup shredded cheddar towards the end. I also make sure I use a nice thick, smoked slab bacon as that smoked flavor is key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Nice thick chowder with lots of flavoring. I used 1 pound of ham chunks instead of the bacon as I was using bacon in another soup recipe being served the same day. The group I fed this really enjoyed it and we thought it was even better the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Could have definetly been thicker and I mashed all of the potatoes. I also added 1 cup of celery since I had some to use up, an extra onion, some seasoning salt, and a little fresh parsley and chives for on top. The flavour was pretty good. I used two cans creamed corn and about a cup frozen corn since we had lots of frozen corn we had to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I made this tonight for supper and it was very good. I used regular can corn because I didn't have the cream style, and it was very good. It makes alot so you will have alot of leftovers. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westport, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Meredith, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is an excellent soup. It makes a ton of soup. For the 8 cups of milk I used 1 qt of fat-free 1/2 & 1/2, 1 can of chicken broth and the rest 1% milk. I also used 2 cans of creamed corn and 1 whole niblets, drained. Great for a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
the finished product was very good but i made some changes. i put in a couple stalks of diced celery and along with the creamed corn i used regular canned corn. i did not mash any of the potatoes as it was going to be plenty thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I'm only rating it a three because it wasn't my cup of tea. Unfortunately. Sorry I couldn't give it a better review.... :o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
very good, quick to make. I also used some chick stock in place of all milk and added scallions for color. if your looking for a fast easy recipie this is it. great for first time chowder cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States