Corn Chowder - Fast and Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
We added smoked sausage to this recipe. It makes a LOT! It was really good and we have made this numerous times on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Scrumptious! I would call it soup however, not chowder, it's not thick. But we'll be adding this to our list of regular soups!! YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Excellent recipe!!! I did add flour to thicken it some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Very easy and good! Great with crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Delicious! just a hint - I put the bacon & onion together first, added the potatoes, stock and seasonings. Once potatoes cooked, blend with hand-blender for thick and creamy soup - then add your corns. I don't know what Jack cheese is, so used Gouda and Tasty. Definately make again! Also, I strained it and gave it to my 15month old and she loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I guess I should have read the reviews first and I would have added less stock and another can of creamed corn. For me, this was too thin to be called a chowder. I got a tip from a co-worker though, that will be good on the leftovers...add instant mashed potatoes until the desired consistency is achieved. I think that will help. Overall good flavor though. Will probably make again with the noted changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISSY MARAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I make a recipe very similar to this, but different enough to ask readers to consider: use a bit more bacon grease to cook the onions; aggresively season the potatoes, and fry them until they are lightly browned; leave out the oregano, add a pinch of nutmeg, use a good amount of white pepper or cayenne pepper to give it some snap, add 3/4 cup of sour cream out the end, and heat through. Leave out the cheeses! Diced carrots can be added with the onion, and frozen peas can be added with the corn, for variety. Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I really enjoyed this recipe. I had to use pre-packaged shreaded potatoes due to time. It turned out really good. I also used turkey bacon and added polish sausage to make it a meal. I loved the taste and texture. it was pretty thick and yummy. I also topped it with a dollop of sour cream and that was a perfect touch. Not very waiste line friendly but yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This was a yummy cream soup. It's not quite thick enough to be a chowder but still delicious. I used Swanson Seasoned Chicken Broth since that was what I had on hand and it added a lot of flavor. I forgot to buy an onion so that was omitted. Next time I will try to remember to thicken it up a bit with some flour. Definitely a perfect supper for chilly winter weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This was very good- despite other suggestions, the only changes I made were to add double the amount of cream corn- and it was plenty thick enough. Very very good, but I will still add more corn next time- it was almost a potato chowder with some corn in it. All in all, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States