Corn Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
I liked this but it was a little too much cayenne for my taste. It made it hot but it tasted like something was missing. I added about 1 Tb chili powder and that helped out. I am vegetarian so I used powdered veggie base and used fresh chopped oregano (about 1 Tb) because I had some on hand and didn't want it to go to waste. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This recipe is great as is! Except for replacing the onion with onion powder, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great, spicy and thick just like chili should be!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
So simple, so fast, SO delicious! I modified by adding two 28oz cans of diced tomatoes and no tomatoe sauce or paste and using chili powder and cumin as spice. The result - RAVE reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PERSEPHONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Quick meatless dish, tastes great and nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This was great, the whole family loved it, even my picky son who doesn't like tomatoes. I wouldn't change anything but maybe the amount of cayenne pepper, it was just a little too spicy for me, and maybe a little less salt. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This has been so good to heat up for my work lunches this week during the cold weather. I left out the pinto beans so my partner would eat this too, and he says this is the best chilli I have made so far! This is a keeper and next time I make it I will have to double the recipe as my man keeps eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I received a last minute call, and had to change the menu to suite the needs of our guests. I tried this recipe and was not disappointed. I didn't have pinto beans or frozen corn, but used black beans and canned corn instead (also added a bit of garlic powder). I served some over fritos others without, added shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream to cut the heat, then sprinkled some black olives on top for my son. This fast easy dish was a hit in my house, and we will make it again. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This was a "clean out the pantry, fridge and freezer" recipe for me. I had everything on hand! I used cumin and chili powder instead of cayenne (lots of chili powder, a good two tablespoons for half the recipe because it dumped out of the bottle), mexican style tomatoes and no tomato paste. We had it over tricolor rotini with a dollop of sour cream. I give this four stars because it was quick, easy and healthy. It wasn't out of this world amazing, but good enough to make a couple times a year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I was so excited when I first read this recipe and all the great reviews, but after following the recipe to a "T" it was hardly edible. It was so bland, we had to spice it up even more and that barely worked. It's sad to see so much food go into the trash. This one needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, California, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Easy and good, but don't call this chili as it stands. I did add two tablespoons chili powder and extra cumin along with the suggested amount of cayenne and liked it a lot. I would like this better with a couple of pounds of ground beef added and may try it that way next time. I like the texture and crunch the corn added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Living In: Providence, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States