Corn Cheese Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
This is a great recipe! Adding and substituting did not mess up the recipe. I used 1 can of creamed corn, and 1 regular corn and it worked. I sauted red bell pepper with the onion for color and flavor and it was wonderful. I also added basil, and a little garlic. I will use this recipe again-- Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
My family loved it. I used 6 slices of kraft cheese and also have used some defrosted southern style hash brown potatoes to this....yummy !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
I really enjoyed this chowder. I added some crumbled bacon to sprinkle on top. It was a really crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Fantastic! I added a potato (diced) and bay leaf along with a little hot sauce. Very hearty soup - would make a great recipe when you have your vegetarian friends over and don't know what to cook for them. Imagine having this soup waiting for you in the crockpot when you finish shoveling out from underneath the latest snow storm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This soup was delicious. I did add two cloves of minced garlic with the onion. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrieannro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Grove, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Very tasty and what I really like is that this recipe used ingredients that I already had on hand. It didn't last long. My son ate all of it in less than 24 hours. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Daycare Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Oh, this was so delicious! I added potatoes as suggested by others, but probably would have liked it just as well without them. This chowder was filling and oh so yummy. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This came out great even though I used skim milk and chedder instead of preccessed cheese. It probably would have been even yummier with whole milk. I doubled the reciepe and added a couple large potatoes cut up pretty small. I was worried the potatoes would add to the cooking time, but overall the whole thing took about an hour..not bad! Next time I would do whole milk and mabey a little seasoning. (The chedder DOES seperate, but I didnt want my soup to taste like velveta)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chillmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
This chowder is wonderful! And so easy to make. It is a hearty soup. I used 2 cups of milk and 2 cups of light cream to make it a little richer. That is the only change I made to this recipe. I would proudly serve this to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This chowder was good; however, it was a bit thin. I used 1 can of creamed corn and 1 can of whole kernel corn. I also used more cheese for a sharper taste. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States