Corn Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This recipe - despite the few ingredients and ease of preparation - won the crowd over at our church potluck. I used frozen corn, fyi, and it was fine. Also, you really need to increase the cooking time. I cooked it for almost an hour until the top was lightly golden. Just keep an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacia Mattan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Monmouth, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Everybody in my family LOVED this casserole(except my youngest daughter, but she's 12, what can you expect? Although she did say it was "OK") I substituted a 28 oz. bag of frozen corn for the canned corn and I cooked it in the crockpot for 5 hours on high instead of using the oven. I was nervous about using the crock pot but it came out "PERFECT". It starts out kind of "chunky looking" but ends up nice and creamy. I stirred it a few times, maybe once every hour. My dh was really mad at me at first that I was trying a "NEW" recipe on Thanksgiving,especially because he really loved my old corn casserole recipe, but he said he likes this one even better. I said, "See? You'll just have to trust me. I know what I'm doing. I'm a professional!" This recipe satisfies all three of my requirements, 1) It's inexpensive, 2) It's easy 3) It's absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Sorry, I managed to change four things in a four-ingredient recipe, which I have to admit is terrible. But I liked the basic idea so this is what I ended up with - and what got very good feedback from my guests: I halved the amount of cream cheese and butter, used yellow kernel corn (only 4 cans, though) and substituted 1 diced green bell pepper for the jalapenos. And last but not least: a little bit salt and pepper doesn’t hurt this recipe, so I added to taste. This served easy 12 people as a side dish, even though everybody liked it a lot. And it was creamy enough - I'm happy that I didn't drown it in the amount of butter that the recipe asks for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I would consider this a dip rather than a casserole because it was a bit soupy. I served it with tortilla chips. This dish had quite a bit of heat to it with the jalepenos (and I used less than recommended!) I backed off on the butter per other reviews and it still was a bit much. The butter wasn't absorbed and stayed on top making the dish look a bit greasy. I did melt some cheddar cheese on top to give it more of a solid look. I served this dish at a potluck and people generally liked it, but I did end up with left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Very Good !!! I could not bring myself to use an entire cup of butter though. I only used half a stick and also added a little grated cheddar and was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
My sister made this Christmas and used it as a dip with scoops corn chips, a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This is BY FAR the best corn casserole recipe on this site...or anywhere! My family begs me to make it for every holiday. Not only is it ridiculously quick and easy but it tastes unbelievable. My only comment is to beware of the type of jalepenos used. The amount called for in the recipe is perfect if you use the mild pickled jalepenos in a jar. If you use regular canned jalepenos you are in for some serious heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I used fresh corn cut off the cob - you could use a more mild green chile - frozen corn would work too. Not diet friendly but oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I used veggie creamcheese, peppercinis and the last 10 minutes I put crushed croutons on top- very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Everyone loves this!! I use Green Giant Super Sweet Nibblers Corn, 1/4 to 1/2 jar of pickled japs & sprinke with paprika before baking. Serve with FRITOS...sinfully delicious!!! I am asked to bring this to any pot luck occasion & never leave without giving out the recipe to more than one person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States