Corn Bread Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Alright folks, I'm going to be brutally honest here... Did anyone not notice how the directions were ridiculously lacking in information?? At what point was someone going to mention that you need a mixer for this recipe (which I do not have!)??? If I had known you need a mixer I wouldn't have bothered wasting my time! So, out came my little hand blender to try to mix this dry goop. I ended up adding copious amounts of milk for my hand blender to try to get through it, but lo & behold my hand blender couldn't handle it and started smoking! Out in the snow it went before I started seeing flames! So, here I am with a partly blended mixture.... Some went into a pan to try to get something out of it and the rest into the garbage. I baked it for 20 min at 425 degree. I tried it out and it's edible but even though I added more than 2 cups of milk it's still dryer than dust. (Zero stars for the lack of information in the directions and 3 stars because I could still eat it, but I won't be making this again). Off I go to buy a new hand blender... Grrr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I tried this, but I think I messed up somewhere. I went by the reviews and put a bit more sugar and milk, but when I cooked it in the oven, it stayed too "goopy." The crusty parts on the top tasted delicious, but the whole thing didn't turn out. It was probably from me changing it up a bit, but look at it this way: the ducks at the nearest pond will have a good meal now!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Not bad. I'm a bit odd in that I don't like corn bread at all, but I like corn dogs. So, I didn't have corn bread mix on hand when I wanted to make the Corn Dog Casserole on here. I scaled the servings to 12 and made this for the casserole, and it worked wonderfully. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Worked great in corn casserole. I have not tried on own so I did not give a great review, but plan to try again very soon. Worked great in other recipes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Made them and loved them thank you for a fantastic recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemdesigns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Just tried this with beans and rice for dinner. 1/3 cup sugar was plenty sweet. Baked it in cast iron skillet and was great. Thank you for a great recipe. Will be making this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Delicious corn bread! This will become my regular corn bread from now on--my husband gave it two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is yummy cornbread :) I made the cornmeal out of dried corn from our fields and it came out wonderful. Fixed a batch of beans and ham shank with the cornbread for dinner tonight and not a bit was leftovers. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This is good if you don't like sweet cornbread. I love it- just basic yummy cornbread. You can probably sweeten as much as you like. I added some frozen roasted mild chilis I had in freezer, added some smoked motzarella. This goes well with tortilla soup. Thanks for great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
5 stars with a couple changes. I like a sweeter corn bread, so I added a little more sugar. After reading reviews that said it was a little dry, I halved the amount of mix to prepare (1-1/6 c.) and mixed with a little over 1/2 c. milk and the full egg. I made it in 6 muffin cups baked for 20-25 minutes. They turned out moist enough and the amount was perfect for my family of 2 adults and 2 small children. My one year old liked them, but I couldn't please my 3 year old who's become a little more judicious in her food choices lately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States