Corn-Bacon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Very tasty, but needed to add more milk. I also added some scallops and half stick of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
AMAZING!! I did 2 cups of heavy cream instead of milk it was wonderful!! I would definetly make this again . Thumbs up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I halved the recipe and had to use cream of onion instead of potato because it is what I had. I did not use curry powder (not a fan) but the soup did need some seasoning. I added a chopped jalapeno. DH said it needed some cilantro. It was a tasty soup and I will most likely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I used vegetarian bacon (with olive oil instead of grease) and it turned out fantastic. I also got these teeny little potatoes at Trader Joe's that I threw in whole without having to slice or peel and it tasted good and was easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I thought this was delicious! The recipe makes a lot of chowder, which is good if you are feeding a lot of people. I would suggest increasing the amount of curry powder (1/4 tsp for so much really doesn't add enough curry taste in my opinion). But I thought it was great- good taste, thick (not runny), easy, and cheap! It has a lot of sodium, so be sure to drink a lot of water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Wonderful dish. My whole family enjoyed it and it is great to make and take to someone's home. I fix it for my father and he can eat it with a sandwich for a yummy lunch. I cook the recipe completely as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cross City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This recipe is great just as given. I don't understand why people alter the recipe and then offer sub-standard ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This is a great recipe. Have already made this 3 times in this past month. I did cut out one of the Can of patato creme as two seemed a little strong. Exchanged it out with a creme of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I only gave this recipe 4 stars because I think it is a good base. I made lots of additions/revisions, plus I halved the recipe... so take that into consideration for amounts used. First, I used yellow potatoes. These have a nice flavor for soups. I chopped the bacon before browning... this makes browning easier. Then, I wanted this to be spicy and flavorful... probably too spicy for most, but I added to the bacon while near the end of browning: 1/2 white onion (diced), 2 garlic cloves (minced), 2 Serrano peppers (seeded & diced), and 2 jalapeno peppers (seeded & diced). I sautéed these with the bacon until all was tender and the bacon browned. I doubled the cream of potato soup rather than also adding cream of mushroom. I doubled the amount of corn and used Mexican corn instead of plain, and added 1/4 c of heavy cream in addition to 2% milk. I also added coriander, cumin, and oregano to the mixture and eliminated the curry powder. This was truly amazing... one of the best dishes I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
My husband and 14 year old son finished all of this in one sitting (I had a small bowl) and this makes a lot of chowder. I would substitute another cream of potato for one of the cream of mushrooms, it tasted a little too mushroom-soupy to me but I love the taste of potato so it might just be me. My family didn't seem to mind. I would also cut back on the potatoes. I didn't use all of mine, it would have been too bulky. My husband thought there was too much corn but I didn't. Great, quick chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States