Corn and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Be forewarned, this will feed an army! That's ok, I'm having it as left-overs for lunch today :) I didn't make any changes to the recipe and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I make this to save money, never knew others did as well and did not know it was Bahamian. I do it a tadge different each time, depending on what I have. I usually use an entire large onion, whole green bell pepper, at least one 8 oz can of tomato sauce and sometimes another can of diced tomatoes with basil, garlic and oregano. I love tomatoes and the veggies, but not a huge fan of rice, so I use only 1 cup of rice.... and just drain the liquids and add enough water or stock OR water and a bouillon cube to make 1 1/2 cups of liquid. And beans of any kind are good in this too. I am sure it is okay to personalize this... most folks do, less they don't have cooking experience. As is, this recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I really like the flavors that came together, easy and cheap. I like making this with my fish meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Loved the rice, added 2 more slices of bacon and left onion out. Used jasmine rice and chicken stock. Modified slightly- 1 cup rice, 2 cups chicken stock and 1 can f stock. a big hit, Very yummy!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
It was a lot better than I expected. Wondering what a few stalks of skellion are as posted bby Yvette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Turned out great makes a super big pot. Great side dish for big families there will definitely be enough to go around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I didn't have browning sauce, so I just used a concentrated beef flavoring--a bullion type thing, and it worked well enough. I also didn't use tomato sauce but tossed in a can of drained chopped tomatoes instead. I'm not a huge fan of rice, so keep that in mind, but this wasn't too bad. The flavors worked well and it goes well with chopped chicken to make it a full meal. This does make a lot of rice, though--so make sure you like rice or have enough people to consume it if you make the full batch. There is way more than 5 servings in this recipe! All in all, not bad, and hubby seems to like it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight. It was delish!!! I made a few changes. I used one 15 ounce of corn which was plenty. I also added a few stalks of skellion while the liquid was simmering, just a few minutes before adding the rice. Lastly, I used Jasmine rice which is so much more flavorful. A true winner!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
definetely nummy and easy!!! -La Vonne R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Great recipe, and it makes a huge serving. It reminds me somewhat of Mexican red rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States