Corn and Rice Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is delicious! We loved what the small amount of sugar did for this dish! I will definitely make this over and over again ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I sauteed red onion until soft (instead of shallots because that's what I had on hand), added the corn and sauteed for another minute then added rice & water and cooked all together. The starch from the corn gave a creaminess to the rice when cooked together. A real comfort food, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendi Leitzell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Perfect accompaniment to the salmon cakes I made for dinner. I made my rice in a rice cooker to make it easier on me- Just the rice, water, and a bit of margarine to keep it a little loose (I can't cook rice in a pot, it always burns down! I'm a very distracted cook). I used canned corn for lack of fresh and so used half creamed corn, half 'peaches 'n' cream' niblets. Substituted a small yellow onion for the shallots and used mint that was previously frozen, though I had less than the recipe called for and cooked it along with the other stuff in the pan. After tossing the corn mixture with the rice, I squeezed half a lemon over it and mixed it again. The acidity cuts the sweetness and evens out the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Simple and tasty - a good side dish for something spicy because the mint has a cooling effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Fabulous recipe. All I had on hand for a side dish was jasmine rice and frozen corn - this recipe made a delicious side dish appear out of thin air. Love love love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Loved this dish - simple and tasty... surprising mix of flavors. Made it last Easter and came back for the recipe to make again this year! Tastes great warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I really enjoy this easy, refreshing recipe. I've made it twice now- I add a lot more than 2 tbs of mint, and use a can of corn, plus put ground black pepper in the oil as it heats. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Very unique. I didn't have fresh mint, so I used loose-leaf dried spearmint leaves made for tea (not the instant bagged stuff). I really like this combination of ingredients. I added just a bit of garam masala to the rice to give it an additional exotic zing. I think a sprinkle of lime juice would be nice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Really enjoyed this dish for something unique! Great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bellahay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Seriously. Yum. If you like rice, mint and corn - this recipe is for you. Seems like an odd combo, but it turns out fab. I had some simple syrup on hand (1 part sugar, 2 parts water - boiled), so I used that in lieu of the plain sugar. Added some nice moistness to the corn mixture. Other than that, followed this to a T. Great with some blackened fish and mojitos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadtownCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States