Corn and Potato Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
i made this as a quick dinner for the cold weather alert we are having .my son in law said ,"what sorcery is this"?,as he groaned away from the table .lol thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Family favorite, kids ask me to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
My husband coudn't quit eating the soup! It was a big hit with him. I did add the carrots and found it very tasty! Even my 18 month old son ate some of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
My husband is not a big fan of soup in general, but I love soup in the wintertime, so when I found this recipe we both were happy! It is such a delicious recipe! We like it even better without the bacon and with extra celery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
i tryed this recipe and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
exceptional
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This recipe was very good after some minor "tweaking" I omitted the bacon and had two use 17 Tablespoons of flour and 2 ½ Cups of Water to get the desired consistency because it was too watery. Very good and filling,this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I changed some of the amounts of this recipe so that it wouldn't make too much soup and left out the bacon. The combination of all the rest of the ingredients was absolutely delicious. A very warm and tasty winter treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I had to give this one 4 stars because I had to make A LOT of tweaks. First off, a chowder is supposed to be thick and this was WAY too watery. I used 2 1/2 Quarts of water instead of 3 (but would use 2 next time because it was still too watery) I used 3 cans of corn and 5 smaller potatos, I did add a hanful of chopped carrots as well. I followed the seasonings as mentioned but it was way too bland so added salt n pepper to taste (as mentioned) and did the same to the chicken boullion (as referred by another reviewer) I also added Onion powder and garlic powder to taste. sprinkled a little parsley too. it was much more flavorful without being over powering after my tweaking. I wish i could give you the measurments but as i said before, I did it by taste. I then used 1 cup of water and 10 TBSP of flour but even after that, it was still too watery so I did the easy route and used wondera to thicken it up to the consistacy I was looking for. It turned out GREAT but, only after the modifications. I would def. make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I tweaked this recipe as well, I used 1 3/4 qt water, 1 can of cream of celery soup and filled the can with 1/2 & 1/2 used 2 tbsp four and 1/2 cup water, added minced garlic and a dash if Greek seasoning with a dash of celery salt and used frozen corn instead of canned...whew..lol My boyfriend gave it 4 stars and so did I thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsweetburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States