Corn and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Loved this recipe. Easy and good. My whole family loved it. Remember it is a bisque and not a chowder - I was expecting someting a bit thicker. I added more seasonings than called for and also put in some of Emeril's Essence. I used sweet frozen corn instead of fresh. Pefect recipe for fresh caught crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This soup was delicious!!!! I wouldn't change anything about it, except maybe adjust the recipe to make more of it!!! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This is absolutely the best chowda I've ever had (even though it's listed as a bisque)!!! You can use this recipe for just corn chowda, or go with fish or crab. I cut the recipe in half just in case it was just an OK recipe, and I wished I had used the original recipe. My boyfriend & I fought over the left overs!!! This is definately a keeper!!! Thank you TattoChicc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
All I can say is "wow." This recipe is amazing. My husband proclaimed at first bite that this was by far the greatest thing I have ever made him! THank you so much! A few quick things: I even used canned corn (for speediness) and it was great, AND I added the ol' family staple, a heaping tsp. of Old Bay!!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Original review 11/3/05---This was very good! I used canned corn & canned crab (I only had 12 oz. of the lump crab & used a 6 oz. can of fancy white....I didn't care for the fancy white & will make sure I have enough lump for next time), I added a tsp. of Old Bay & also a can of cream style corn. Next time I think I will try the suggestion of using whipping cream instead of the half & half to add thickness. I meant to top it w/ parmesan cheese but it tasted so good I forgot! Update 5/28/06--- Made this for lunch again today but this time I used fresh king crab leftover from last night...fresh is definitely best but then we knew that already. ;o) I also used fresh corn this time & to be honest, I like it better w/ canned or frozen. Instead of sprinkling w/ parmesan, I made Parmesan Crisps (from foodnetwork site) to garnish them w/ & they were so cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
With out a doubt the best bisque we've ever had. Good cokking tattoochicc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was a very good bisque - served to 5 people and they all really liked it. Fairly easy to make as well. Came out thinner than what I had imagined for a bisque, but was still good. I even used the whipping cream in lieu of half and half and threw in some extra flour to try and thicken it up but still pretty thin. But great flavor overall. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNH13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I love this bisque. I'm a college student so I'm always looking for something to make and then freeze and use for a few days. I used imitation crab flakes instead of lump crab ($1.99 vs. $16.99) and it still taste wonderful. Just crumble the flakes. This is an amazing and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This soup is excellent! My husband loves it ~ way too spicey for the kids. I cut the recipe in half (only 2 of us will eat it) and then cut the cajun seasoing in half again and it was still hoooot! But great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This was SOooooooo good! What a great way to use up leftover crab legs. After reading the reviews, in place of the 1/2 and 1/2 and the milk, I used heavy cream. Although the consistency turned out perfectly, might not do it again as hub said it was very rich, that it was great but "you can't eat a lot of it". Hhhmmm, maybe I'll keep it as is, ha-ha. I CAN eat a lot of it --his portion, too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States