Corn and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Original review 11/3/05---This was very good! I used canned corn & canned crab (I only had 12 oz. of the lump crab & used a 6 oz. can of fancy white....I didn't care for the fancy white & will make sure I have enough lump for next time), I added a tsp. of Old Bay & also a can of cream style corn. Next time I think I will try the suggestion of using whipping cream instead of the half & half to add thickness. I meant to top it w/ parmesan cheese but it tasted so good I forgot! Update 5/28/06--- Made this for lunch again today but this time I used fresh king crab leftover from last night...fresh is definitely best but then we knew that already. ;o) I also used fresh corn this time & to be honest, I like it better w/ canned or frozen. Instead of sprinkling w/ parmesan, I made Parmesan Crisps (from foodnetwork site) to garnish them w/ & they were so cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is the best soup ever! I'am not one to sit over a stove, so I figured out how to cook it in a crockpot. Throw all ingrediants into a crockpot (I also add parboiled chopped red potatoes) and cook on high for two hours. Add crab and cook for one more hour. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Great recipe. I, too, substituted Old Bay Seasoning (1 1/2 tsp) for the cajun seasoning and cayenne pepper, and also added 1/2 tsp ground marjoram. Be sure to thoroughly rinse the lump crabmeat; I sprinkle it with lemon juice BEFORE rinsing it to help remove the "crabby" smell and taste. We live on the Gulf coast where this dish is a staple; this recipe is as good, if not better, than most local restaurants serve. We sprinkle parmesan cheese on top-- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by probrewer
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Made this dinner tonight and it was fan--tastic! Never made any sort of crab meal before as my wife hates seafood (it's a texture thing), but she loved this soup. The only thing I did different from the posted recipe was to add three strips of sliced, cooked bacon, because, well, bacon makes everything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by probrewer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Holbrook, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This recipe is awesome! It is different from the crab bisque that I have had, but it rates right up there. Also, super easy to make. I used whipping cream instead of half and half and shredded the imitation crab up instead. I also used a can of muchroom soup in place of one of the chicken broths. You have to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This recipe was very easy to follow and sooo tasty, my guests all had second helpings! I made a few modifications - for thickening I used heavy cream instead of half and half and added a litte extra, as well as 2 extra tablespoons of flour. I also omitted the cajun seasoning and cayenne pepper and instead added 1.5 teaspoons of Old Bay spice. Tasted great and with lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This recipe was super. I omited the cajun seasoning all together, halfed the cayenne and used Old Bay seasoning as well. I used canned corn and it worked fine. Also used heavy whipping cream instead of half and half, think it helped with the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
All I can say is "wow." This recipe is amazing. My husband proclaimed at first bite that this was by far the greatest thing I have ever made him! THank you so much! A few quick things: I even used canned corn (for speediness) and it was great, AND I added the ol' family staple, a heaping tsp. of Old Bay!!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I love this bisque. I'm a college student so I'm always looking for something to make and then freeze and use for a few days. I used imitation crab flakes instead of lump crab ($1.99 vs. $16.99) and it still taste wonderful. Just crumble the flakes. This is an amazing and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I did what I always do with a new recipe. I made it exactly as described to get an idea what the author had in mind. Then I made it again and tweaked it to my taste. What I noticed right away was that the bay took over and gave the entire dish a cloying bay flavor. So I just used one leaf and at that I took it out after the 10 minute simmer. That brought the bay into balance. The other thing I noticed was a lack of seafood flavor in the finished product. So, I substituted 28 oz of clam juice for 28 oz of chicken broth. I also substituted 1/2 tsp of Old Bay Seasoning, which has a minimal bay contribution, ironically, for 1/2 tsp Cajun Seasoning. These changes mellowed out the bay while adding seafood flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States