Corn and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is the best soup ever! I'am not one to sit over a stove, so I figured out how to cook it in a crockpot. Throw all ingrediants into a crockpot (I also add parboiled chopped red potatoes) and cook on high for two hours. Add crab and cook for one more hour. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelah Riggs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Original review 11/3/05---This was very good! I used canned corn & canned crab (I only had 12 oz. of the lump crab & used a 6 oz. can of fancy white....I didn't care for the fancy white & will make sure I have enough lump for next time), I added a tsp. of Old Bay & also a can of cream style corn. Next time I think I will try the suggestion of using whipping cream instead of the half & half to add thickness. I meant to top it w/ parmesan cheese but it tasted so good I forgot! Update 5/28/06--- Made this for lunch again today but this time I used fresh king crab leftover from last night...fresh is definitely best but then we knew that already. ;o) I also used fresh corn this time & to be honest, I like it better w/ canned or frozen. Instead of sprinkling w/ parmesan, I made Parmesan Crisps (from foodnetwork site) to garnish them w/ & they were so cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Great recipe. I, too, substituted Old Bay Seasoning (1 1/2 tsp) for the cajun seasoning and cayenne pepper, and also added 1/2 tsp ground marjoram. Be sure to thoroughly rinse the lump crabmeat; I sprinkle it with lemon juice BEFORE rinsing it to help remove the "crabby" smell and taste. We live on the Gulf coast where this dish is a staple; this recipe is as good, if not better, than most local restaurants serve. We sprinkle parmesan cheese on top-- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by probrewer
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Made this dinner tonight and it was fan--tastic! Never made any sort of crab meal before as my wife hates seafood (it's a texture thing), but she loved this soup. The only thing I did different from the posted recipe was to add three strips of sliced, cooked bacon, because, well, bacon makes everything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by probrewer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Holbrook, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This recipe was very easy to follow and sooo tasty, my guests all had second helpings! I made a few modifications - for thickening I used heavy cream instead of half and half and added a litte extra, as well as 2 extra tablespoons of flour. I also omitted the cajun seasoning and cayenne pepper and instead added 1.5 teaspoons of Old Bay spice. Tasted great and with lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This recipe is awesome! It is different from the crab bisque that I have had, but it rates right up there. Also, super easy to make. I used whipping cream instead of half and half and shredded the imitation crab up instead. I also used a can of muchroom soup in place of one of the chicken broths. You have to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This recipe was super. I omited the cajun seasoning all together, halfed the cayenne and used Old Bay seasoning as well. I used canned corn and it worked fine. Also used heavy whipping cream instead of half and half, think it helped with the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
All I can say is "wow." This recipe is amazing. My husband proclaimed at first bite that this was by far the greatest thing I have ever made him! THank you so much! A few quick things: I even used canned corn (for speediness) and it was great, AND I added the ol' family staple, a heaping tsp. of Old Bay!!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I did what I always do with a new recipe. I made it exactly as described to get an idea what the author had in mind. Then I made it again and tweaked it to my taste. What I noticed right away was that the bay took over and gave the entire dish a cloying bay flavor. So I just used one leaf and at that I took it out after the 10 minute simmer. That brought the bay into balance. The other thing I noticed was a lack of seafood flavor in the finished product. So, I substituted 28 oz of clam juice for 28 oz of chicken broth. I also substituted 1/2 tsp of Old Bay Seasoning, which has a minimal bay contribution, ironically, for 1/2 tsp Cajun Seasoning. These changes mellowed out the bay while adding seafood flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I love this bisque. I'm a college student so I'm always looking for something to make and then freeze and use for a few days. I used imitation crab flakes instead of lump crab ($1.99 vs. $16.99) and it still taste wonderful. Just crumble the flakes. This is an amazing and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States