Corn and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I made this recipe almost as directed and it was amazing. I didn't use quite as much crab and I used canned corn. But just because I was using what I had on hand at the time. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
The broth was awesome. I would use that part of the recipe again. The crab turned me away, there was too much. Also, corn was in season, so the corn was much tastier than the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittyluv0508

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Excellent. I used three 6-oz cans of Chicken of the Sea fancy crab, two cans of creamed corn and 16-oz of heavy cream instead of milk. No cayenne, I substituted a few dashes of Louisiana hot sauce. So good that when my daughter turned up her nose at it, I didn't even make her eat it. More leftovers for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
It was OK, probably won't be making again. I think a bisque should be smooth and creamy, and this was not, mainly because of the onion (and I think the onion flavor detracted from the crab). Also the proportions seemed off, the flour was not enough to thicken properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is by far one of my favorite soups! I have made it many times and my family LOVES it. I have made it exactly like in the recipe, but I have changed some things which I feel have only made it better. Some things I do recommend doing is doubling the flour and using more heavy cream. I usually just buy a 16 oz carton of heavy cream and use half with the flour and half just in the soup. It makes it a little more creamy, more like a bisque. One thing that I did last time was follow one reviews idea and added bacon. I cooked the bacon in the pot till it was super crispy, and then I caramelized the onions and garlic in the bacon grease. Might not make it healthy, but it does make it tasty. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
used cream of chicken soup instead of 1 can of chicken broth and one cup of frozen corn omitted flour, used 1/2 cup of whole milk, used what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This was really good. I must admit that I did make some little modifications. I didn't have any fresh corn on the cob available and I wanted to make sure the bisque was creamy so I used a can of sweet cream corn and I only had canned lump crab meat available. I'm sure it would be a real hit with fresh. I've been looking for a recipe similar to this ever since I was at a business conference in San Diego and stayed at Lowes Coronado Bay Resort and they served a corn and crab chowder to die for. With some tweaks I think I can achieve the same taste. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Wow! This was amazing. I made it with imitation crab meat and canned corn. I used the original spices called for. It is spicy, but it works well with the rich creamy base. My husband doesn't care for imitation crab meat, but he enjoyed this. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was just ok for me...I'd really expected to LOVE it. Surprisingly, it was a bit..bland. I'd even taken the advice of a previous reviewer and caramelized a little corn w/the onion in the hopes it would really make the corn pop. Not so much. This soup was also VERY hot, and I really like spicy foods. I had to add some sherry to try to tone it down a bit. My guests *said* they enjoyed it, but would anyone really say anything else?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This is pretty good, but more of a soup than a bisque. It could be thicker and have more of a kick. I pretty much made the recipe as listed, but added a couple of tablespoons of tomato paste and added some hot pepper sauce. Next time I would add at least one can less of the chicken broth to thicken it and add more of the seasoning and pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: West Dundee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States